We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont miss this great pub!!!”
Review of The Royal Oak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Royal Oak
Ranked #10 of 37 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dont miss this great pub!!!”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I travel all around the country with work and hate to stay in the big hotel groups so now look for a good pub with B & B. What a find this place is, Sonia & Ian make you welcome straight away and
the locals aren't bad either!!!
You will also go a long way to have good food like this, Sonia would not be out of place on Master Chef !!! Breakfast is superb and I think very local ingredients,
If your planning a visit to the North East head hear for a very welcome stay, you wont be disappointed

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDTOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    18
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
35
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We chose The Royal Oak for location and price- ideal for Durham city and Dales- but were made very welcome by the owners and locals from the moment we walked in until the moment we left, and hope to stay again in future. Very dog-friendly. The breakfasts are huge and tasty. The owners are helpful, humorous, friendly and not intrusive.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChitinskyAnglichanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights as a base to explore the Durham area and do a bit of walking. Lovely area with good short country walks just outside the front door. Easy access to beautiful Durham city. Great value pub accomodation, wonderful hospitality, superb traditional breakfast and very good value and plentiful fresh homemade pub food in the evenings. Sonia and Ian made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackhorse03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, Kent
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2013

A very warm friendly welcome to a local pub atmosphere. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Breakfast and dinner was excellent, home cooked food and very good value for money. Would recommend and definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela151515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This was our second visit to the Royal Oak and as with our first visit we were warmly welcomed. Sonya and Ian are lovely hosts - welcoming and not intrusive. The rooms are modern, comfortable and very clean. The food lovely. It is a place we will visit again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed at the royal oak on saturday 7th of september and we would highly recommend to anyone. When we first arrived we were welcomed by a busy pub in the middle of the country, at first we were quite interested to know as to why everyone wore wellies but then were told that a country show had been on in the next village. After we found a seat and got a drink from the bar we were straight away welcomed and involved in the conversation by the friendly locals. It was a lively atmosphere and a fun night. Although the rooms could have done with abit of a tlc the cleanliness of them was brilliant, fresh white towels, clean and fresh bedding, tea and coffee station with plenty if choice and a lovely breakfast Can't wait for our next visit to durham as we would definitely be stopping here again. Many thanks x

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charldixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2013

A great place to stay and eat. Would recommend any one to stay here. Rooms are modern and very clean. A great choice of food from the the menu. Very helpful staff when arranging transport to the cricket ground for us. Would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hls55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
6.7 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
6.5 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
6.9 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 19 in Durham
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
8.7 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,030 reviews
7.1 mi away
Croxdale Inn
Croxdale Inn
#11 of 37 in Durham
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak

Property: The Royal Oak
Address: 1 Commercial Street | Cornsay, Colliery, Durham DH7 9BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing