We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pubs as they should be”
Review of The Royal Oak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Royal Oak
Ranked #11 of 39 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I together with another chap spent three days in Co Durham for some walking, sightseeing with a little historical research, during which time we stayed three nights at the Royal Oak. Outstandingly good in every respect. Beds, food and ale were excellent and one could not have been made more welcome by Sonia and Ian who run the pub. We were quickly accepted by the locals who could chat on any subject and held many varied views and opinions together with a remarkable historical knowledge of the area.
If you want to escape the world, relax, and get to know the area and the wonderful people in this part of the world, the Royal Oak is a must stay.. Haven't mentioned the pricing, the value for money is outstanding. Do ask about the publications relating to Durham Cathedral printed by Ian Copinger they are brilliant.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Camdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for The Royal Oak
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

For many years (20+) I have had a preferred place when visiting the North East. However because they are running a cheap promotion it is impossible to get in these days, so I have been looking for alternatives. The Royal Oak is a little Gem, you are immediately made welcome by Sonia and Ian. Everything is clean and modern although some of the paintwork needs fixing in the rooms. Minor complaint. Breakfast was excellent and the evening meal also excellent. Good selection of Beers available but unfortunately they have the new artificial Guinness ( Another pub that believed the Guinness Rep that it tasted good, :-) ) A very welcoming place to which I will return, hopefully quite soon.

Room Tip: I don't think it matters you are in the heart of Co Durham
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

So glad I found this place. Very friendly owners. Breakfast served to perfection. Comfortable night's sleep. Set in a great rural location with lovely views. I can't understand how they make money at the rates they charge but I'm not complaining! Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuttonCTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in this fabulous character filled pub. Everyone was really friendly, the food was good and the room immaculate. Why would anyone want to stay in one of the big chain hotels which are characterless, unfriendly and more expensive. Many thanks

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave9652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I travel all around the country with work and hate to stay in the big hotel groups so now look for a good pub with B & B. What a find this place is, Sonia & Ian make you welcome straight away and
the locals aren't bad either!!!
You will also go a long way to have good food like this, Sonia would not be out of place on Master Chef !!! Breakfast is superb and I think very local ingredients,
If your planning a visit to the North East head hear for a very welcome stay, you wont be disappointed

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LDTOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We chose The Royal Oak for location and price- ideal for Durham city and Dales- but were made very welcome by the owners and locals from the moment we walked in until the moment we left, and hope to stay again in future. Very dog-friendly. The breakfasts are huge and tasty. The owners are helpful, humorous, friendly and not intrusive.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChitinskyAnglichanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights as a base to explore the Durham area and do a bit of walking. Lovely area with good short country walks just outside the front door. Easy access to beautiful Durham city. Great value pub accomodation, wonderful hospitality, superb traditional breakfast and very good value and plentiful fresh homemade pub food in the evenings. Sonia and Ian made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blackhorse03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
6.9 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
523 reviews
6.5 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
6.7 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
8.7 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,122 reviews
8.0 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 18 in Durham
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak

Address: 1 Commercial Street | Cornsay, Colliery, Durham DH7 9BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range: £50 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Royal Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing