We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Durham - The Cathedral and Old City
5

Book in advance
from
£260.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Durham Castle
from £260.00
More Info
from £195.00
More Info
from £40.00
More Info
Durham Food Tour
21 Reviews
from £75.00
More Info
Reviews (1,370)
Filter reviews
1,370 results
Traveller rating
745
431
118
39
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
745
431
118
39
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour student accommodation university students halls of residence knowledgeable guide well worth a visit prince bishops steeped in history palace green library hogwarts insight pounds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
400 - 405 of 1,370 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

Came to Durham to visit the cathedral, castle and Lumiere Festival. However the castle was closed due to the Lumiere Festival - really! Get with it city of Durham this is not what visitors to the city expect.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank OldGuysStillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

You can only go here with a tour, which is limiting, and I don't buy their excuse about not taking photos inside because students live there (we saw more students outside than inside), but that small bit of nit-picking done, it was brilliant. The tour guides were enthusiastic and informative, the history amazing and the pace steady but engaging.

When you consider that the entry fee is a third of what it costs to visit similar structures elsewhere, this is exceptionally good value for money and a must for everyone coming to Durham.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank kevin_cw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Durham C, Manager at Durham Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Thank you for your review of Durham Castle. We are very happy that you found the tour to be good value for money, and that you thought that your visit was brilliant and the history amazing.

It’s great that you believe it is a must for those visiting the city. As a living building, much like the Cathedral, we ask that visitors don't take photographs inside the castle- partly for conservation reasons, but also at the request of University College students for those living and worshipping here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

The Castle is near the Cathedral and not to be missed. You must take a guided tour, so sign up early. The tour was great. Lots of history.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank GADawgGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 November 2017

A unioversity college and a very cool castle at the same time! Worth taking a guided tour of the castle and seeing the suits of armour etc.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank elliotd211
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Tom Our Guide was briliant - very knowledgable about the castle and history..well done - (the volenteer, a man with the grey hair and long gray beard was a bit rude we thought.. interupting Tom. Other than that it was an amazing place - so much history

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Birch H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Durham C, Manager at Durham Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Thank-you for your review of Durham Castle. I am sorry you found one of our volunteers to be rude for interrupting your guide- our volunteers are very enthusiastic about the history of the castle and sometimes want to join in sharing its stories. We are very happy that you thought the castle was amazing though, and that you thought Tom’s tour was brilliant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews