We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Durham - The Cathedral and Old City
5

Book in advance
from
£260.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Durham Castle
from £260.00
More Info
from £195.00
More Info
from £40.00
More Info
Durham Food Tour
21 Reviews
from £75.00
More Info
Reviews (1,369)
Filter reviews
1,369 results
Traveller rating
744
431
118
39
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
744
431
118
39
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour student accommodation university students halls of residence knowledgeable guide well worth a visit prince bishops steeped in history palace green library hogwarts insight pounds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
396 - 401 of 1,369 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2017

The tour only lasts an hour or two, but was well worth it. The Cathedral is often more popular as it's much grander, but the Castle tour was very interesting. I would recommend booking the tour, and if you can time it during University holidays it would give you a chance to see more as during term time it's used by the Durham Uni students as their Halls of Residence and dinner hall.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank FlyingHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Pleasant guided tour very informative.
Interesting history linking it to the cathedral.
Nice staircase with plenty of details and a definate slant.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Durham C, Manager at Durham Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you for your review of Durham Castle. We are glad that you found your tour informative, and that the Black Staircase was a memorable part of your visit- it has a fascinating history that our guides love sharing with visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

We went on the castle tour, but were disappointed. You don't get to see very much, because it is a unviersity hall of residence, so most areas are occupied by students. Our tour guide couldn't pronounce the work "Durham" correctly, every other word was "umm" and the tour was rushed and brief.

Date of experience: October 2017
2  Thank An0n67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

Came to Durham to visit the cathedral, castle and Lumiere Festival. However the castle was closed due to the Lumiere Festival - really! Get with it city of Durham this is not what visitors to the city expect.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank OldGuysStillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

You can only go here with a tour, which is limiting, and I don't buy their excuse about not taking photos inside because students live there (we saw more students outside than inside), but that small bit of nit-picking done, it was brilliant. The tour guides were enthusiastic and informative, the history amazing and the pace steady but engaging.

When you consider that the entry fee is a third of what it costs to visit similar structures elsewhere, this is exceptionally good value for money and a must for everyone coming to Durham.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank kevin_cw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Durham C, Manager at Durham Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Thank you for your review of Durham Castle. We are very happy that you found the tour to be good value for money, and that you thought that your visit was brilliant and the history amazing.

It’s great that you believe it is a must for those visiting the city. As a living building, much like the Cathedral, we ask that visitors don't take photographs inside the castle- partly for conservation reasons, but also at the request of University College students for those living and worshipping here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews