We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
In high demand - travellers recommend booking ahead!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Durham
from US$319.80
More Info
from US$75.50
More Info
Reviews (1,117)
Filter reviews
1,117 results
Traveller rating
604
355
101
32
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
604
355
101
32
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour student accommodation university students student guide dining hall halls of residence knowledgeable guide great guide main hall interesting facts prince bishops well worth a visit interesting visit open to the public world heritage harry potter steeped in history
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,117 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The castle, the cathedral and the university sort of meld into the core of Durham's historic heritage site. The castle, of course, was interesting and you enter with a timed guide. Arrangements were made at the library entrance between the cathedral and the castle entrance. Not certain if you can wander in on your own....

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham C, Visitor Services Co-ordinator at Durham Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your visit to Durham Castle. The Castle is only availabile to visit by guided tour. We do have some dates throughout the year that self-guided tours take place so you can stay longer in certain locations that you find of interest. Hope to see you back one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were very disappointed as we could only go in as part of a tour that we did not want. We did visit the cafe there however which was great.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Minicooperdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham C, Visitor Services Co-ordinator at Durham Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Sorry to hear that you were disappointed that you could not visit Durham Castle unless it was by guided tour. The Castle is home to Durham University Students so in order to protrect their privacy we only have access at set times and follow a set route. Hope that you come back and book on one of our tours in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Access to the castle is by guided tour only. These can be booked in advance at the heritage site visitor centre at a cost of £5. The castle itself has a long history from Norman beginnings through Tudor and Victorian alterations to its current use as student residences. Well worth doing the tour.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham C, Visitor Services Co-ordinator at Durham Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review! The Castle is definitely a must see when you are visiting Durham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Favourite place to walk around & the winter months make it more special with all the autumn colours of the leaves beautiful walks around the river to & aways find a lovely little coffee shop for tea & cake ☺️

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank jeantealady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham C, Visitor Services Co-ordinator at Durham Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. Durham does look beautiful in any season but especially Autumn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you are at Durham, you must visit Durham Castle after visiting Durham Cathedral.

I went for the guided tour at 4.15pm (last tour of the day). Only at 5 pounds per person for less than 1 hour and the tour guide will share more during the castle tour. It's so interesting and I'm always interested on the historical part of the building.

It's also available for stay-in B&B. I will stay for my next visit to Durham.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Serenetan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham C, Visitor Services Co-ordinator at Durham Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and happy to read that you will consider staying at the Castle on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews