We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Durham - The Cathedral and Old City
5

Book in advance
from
£260.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Durham Castle
from £260.00
More Info
from £195.00
More Info
from £40.00
More Info
Durham Food Tour
21 Reviews
from £75.00
More Info
Reviews (1,370)
Filter reviews
1,370 results
Traveller rating
745
431
118
39
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
745
431
118
39
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour student accommodation university students halls of residence knowledgeable guide well worth a visit prince bishops steeped in history palace green library hogwarts insight pounds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 1,370 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2019

Had a guided tour around the castle which is a working college of the University. A building so full of character and history! A must do on a short stay in the city. The Norman arch, formerly the original gate into the keep of the castle has to be one of the finest we have ever seen. Our guide was a former student at the college and her knowledge and presentation was excellent. A must do for anyone on a short stay to the city!

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank LynandKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Durham C, Visitor Services Co-ordinator at Durham Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2019

Thank you for your visit - the Norman Arch is so well preserved and beautiful to see as part of the tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2019

You have to understand that this part of the University and also used as a hotel. So this limits the visitors access and you don't get near to the keep tower.

We paid for the hour long tour. Very reasonable for over 60s at £4 each.

The guide was interesting and knowledgeable so well worth going on the tour.

Some steps and tricky walking for disabled.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank BRIAN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Durham C, Visitor Services Co-ordinator at Durham Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2019

Thank you for your visit. The Keep part of the Castle is the newest part of the castle and is around 180 years old and is now used for student bedrooms so it is not as impressive to see as the parts of the Castle the tour takes you to. The staff selling the tickets for the tours do advise that there are steps and uneven surfaces due to the nature of the building so hopefully anyone who may find the Castle a challenge are informed in advance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2019 via mobile

The castle is really cool and the tour pretty informative. It's interesting to find out about how it's changed over the centuries as many people have added bits to it. I particularly like the old Norman chapel.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank cozzah99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Durham C, Visitors Services Co-ordinator at Durham Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2019

The Normal Chapel is so atmospheric and it does give our visitors the WOW factor. Thank you for your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2019 via mobile

Very interesting tour of the oldest pile of stones in Durham. Guided tours only and Dan was very informative. Since about 1830 it has been the core of Durham University.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank 859allanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Durham C, Visitor Services Co-ordinator at Durham Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2019

Thank you for your visit to Durham Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2019

Durham Castle is so beautiful. It really makes the skyline when you come over on the train. Nice little visit.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank xjess12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Durham C, Visitor Services Co-ordinator at Durham Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2019

We agree with you - Durham Castle is beautiful!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews