We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 16:00
Save
Durham - The Cathedral and Old City
5

Book in advance
from
£260.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Durham Cathedral
from £260.00
More Info
from £195.00
More Info
from £40.00
More Info
Reviews (7,091)
Filter reviews
7,091 results
Traveller rating
5,515
1,283
179
59
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5,515
1,283
179
59
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews venerable bede st cuthbert rose window awe inspiring magnificent building well worth a visit stained glass no charge free entry harry potter world heritage site guided tour the river gift shop palace green donation tower
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,061 - 1,066 of 7,091 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2018

You cannot go to Durham without a visit to the cathedral. Attended at Christmas time so attended a carol concert and candle lit procession. It is worth checking what is on at any time of the year and attend the service or event. Staff are really helpful and happy to chat with you which is nice

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank NeilWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 December 2018

Although its a bit of a climb, which some might find a little taxing the effort is worthwhile. I am not a church goer but I love looking at historical buildings including church ,cathedrals etc

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank andcoralie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 December 2018 via mobile

Possibly one of the most picturesque cities in the world, with its ancient cathedral with links to Harry Potter, its cobbled streets and photo opportunities around every corner.
Not to mention its a unesco world heritage site as well.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank chrisdyson66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 December 2018 via mobile

If you’re visiting Durham, the Cathedral is a must. It represents the heart of this small city, pulsating with history and magnificence.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank adda1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 December 2018

We went to Durham to spend time with my mother's cousin, so it was just a one day quick visit. She took us to Durham Cathedral and it was interesting as well as their museum. We also purchased lunch at a Fish & Chips place that her son called the best. She took us out to the Botanical Garden to see the wild Blue Bells and show us the gardens she helps with as a volunteer (at age 86). We spent the night and left the next morning on the train.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank donnabaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews