We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 07:30 - 18:00
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Durham Cathedral
from US$79.84
More Info
from US$338.31
More Info
Reviews (6,113)
Filter reviews
6,113 results
Traveller rating
4,781
1,104
144
43
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,781
1,104
144
43
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews venerable bede magnificent building st cuthbert awe inspiring rose window well worth a visit stained glass norman architecture no charge free entry harry potter world heritage site the river steeped in history gift shop guided tour palace green
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 6,113 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A must see wether your local or visiting. So much history.
Have been here many times in my life but it’s always interesting to see.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Alist2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

You had the option of donating £3.00 on entry and could pay more in you wish, which is I feel very good as I am not a religious person but strongly believe we should not be forced to pay to gain entry into a religious building.
Lots of history and very nice people to explain it, was so impressed how well it was run we donated some more on the way out.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank oldboy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Durham cathedral is a beautiful place of worship when I go there I always feel very humble and a great feeling of peace comes over me in fact its time I visited again to see our history laid out for you to see and if anyone has not visited yet you will not be
disappointed …..

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I fully appreciate the fact that money is needed for the upkeep of the fabric of the building and as a place of worship no admission fee can be charged (although a fee is charged at York Minster) I thought I was being handed a map as I entered bit it was a request for a donation. I feel there were enough opportunities to donate without the demand as we entered.
We enjoyed the visit and really enjoyed the museum - no objection to the charge and found the assistants there very friendly and willing to answer our questions.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank phoenix021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing Experience and it’s free. Well ok they ask politely for a donation which we were more than happy to give.
The Cathedral is stunning and will be even more so when the Tower is fully renovated.
There are a host of volunteers on hand who have a terrific wealth of knowledge regarding the building.
Highly recommended.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank SteveJo2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews