We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 16:00
Durham - The Cathedral and Old City
5

Book in advance
from
£260.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Durham Cathedral
from £260.00
More Info
from £142.50
More Info
from £195.00
More Info
from £40.00
More Info
Reviews (7,117)
Filter reviews
7,117 results
Traveller rating
5,535
1,289
179
59
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5,535
1,289
179
59
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews venerable bede st cuthbert rose window awe inspiring magnificent building well worth a visit stained glass no charge free entry harry potter world heritage site guided tour the river gift shop palace green donation tower
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
883 - 888 of 7,117 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2019 via mobile

Spent £5 to go on the tour, which you can book at reception- we had Mike who was brilliant, brought a wonderful building and its history to life - lasted about an hour so glad I did it, I have a totally better and different perspective than just walking around which I did the day before. Thank you - This is a must see and do when in Durham

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank markn854
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 May 2019

The cathedral was under some renovation when we visited so certain areas are boarded off but you can still access all of the features inside. The stained glass windows are stunning! It has a suggested donation of £3 per person and there is an onsite gift shop. This was the highlight of our visit to Durham.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 May 2019

A must to visit to see the shrine of St Cuthbert, a tour guide is well recommended to understand the history of Durham Cathedral

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank sandie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 May 2019

Undergoing renovation when I went. Not expensive to view and a great example of its type. Plenty of stained glass.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 May 2019 via mobile

I visited last week, the staff members were lovely and friendly. The cathedral was massive and had some good areas to visit.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank nezzmozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews