We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 16:00
Durham - The Cathedral and Old City
5

Book in advance
from
£260.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Durham Cathedral
from £260.00
More Info
from £142.50
More Info
from £195.00
More Info
from £40.00
More Info
Reviews (7,107)
Filter reviews
7,107 results
Traveller rating
5,528
1,286
179
59
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5,528
1,286
179
59
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews venerable bede st cuthbert rose window awe inspiring magnificent building well worth a visit stained glass no charge free entry harry potter world heritage site guided tour the river gift shop palace green donation tower
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
866 - 871 of 7,107 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2019 via mobile

Had a 2 day stay at Durham and visited the Cathedral on our second day. It's being restored just now but you can still go in to certain areas, stunning inside and a choir were practising when we went in and the acoustics were amazing. Worth a visit as it's just a short walk up the hill.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank 653mandyg2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 May 2019 via mobile

We had a thoroughly good tour round the Cathedral arranged by our art Group. It us a wonderful building with great art, wonderful windows, interesting tombs and important relics.

The tomb of Bede is fascinating enough but the remains of St Cuthbert are the main attraction. Now kept in the old kitchen with controlled temperature and humidity it is displayed in a wonderful way with St Cuthbert’s cross looking almost as pristine and shiny as when it was made almost 1500 years ago.

A UNESCO World heritage site you cab’t miss this.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank daddytommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 May 2019

Such an amazing place..and very helpful volunteer guides who can fill you in on all the history of the place

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 May 2019

Went to Durham cathedral with choir. Time to admire this wonderful cathedral. Beautiful, serene and very holy place steeped in history. Went on a guided tour, wonderful man explained things you would never spot. Had as small prayer service in st cuthberts tomb which was very uplifting.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 May 2019

You can’t go to Durham without visiting the cathedral . A Beautiful majestic building situated at the end of quite a steep walk for us less able , but definitely worth it . Staff are extremely helpful and go out there way for all their visitors . Lovely gift shop for that souvenir of a lovely day out .

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank Brucethedog217
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews