We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 16:00
Save
Durham - The Cathedral and Old City
5

Book in advance
from
£260.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Durham Cathedral
from £260.00
More Info
from £195.00
More Info
from £40.00
More Info
Reviews (7,091)
Filter reviews
7,091 results
Traveller rating
5,515
1,283
179
59
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5,515
1,283
179
59
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews venerable bede st cuthbert rose window awe inspiring magnificent building well worth a visit stained glass no charge free entry harry potter world heritage site guided tour the river gift shop palace green donation tower
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
554 - 559 of 7,091 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2019

What a stunning and magnificent building. The Csthedral staff were welcoming , most helpful and very well informed. The suggested donation of £3 per person is a sensible amount and certainly very good value for money..

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank thesmithsat72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 October 2019

A wonderful place full of interesting history from the crypt to the top of the tower, from where there are great views of the city. Don't forget to go on into the Castle and to visit the great hall there. A walk along the river from Framwellgate Bridge, via Prebends Bridge, not missing Sire Walter Scott's "Grey Towers of Durham, Yet well I love the mixed & massive piles - - etc" round at least as far as Elvet Bridge, up to the Market Place and back to your starting point, though a walk along the North & South Bailey is well worthwhile too. Enjoy Durham.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank C W T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 October 2019 via mobile

Lovely cathedral. Great exploring. People that work there very helpful. The tower is a hard but great climb. Legs still aching 1 week on!!
Great shop and cafe. Well worth visit

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank jaleBolt19
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 October 2019

Apart from the cathedral and castle not much else to do except for shopping. The walk along the river is quite short but interesting

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Av1dtraveller1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 October 2019

As a group of 4 we paid a £20 donation. We spent 15 mins in the Nave then made our way to the Organ. Stopped by a purple robed officious woman who said there would be a service at 3pm and we couldn't go any further, I stated it was only 2.30 but she shook her head and made 'shooing' arm movements. Disappointed we turned left only to be turned around by 2 more assistants who said area was closed as they were 'preparing'?We then went onto the DLI Chapel but 2 more women refused us entry into that area and the Tower. I went back to Reception to complain we should have been prevented from entering or paying for 20 mins of entry and 2as met with 2 blank faces who refused to speak to me. Disgraceful.

Date of experience: October 2019
3  Thank JackandMargaret55
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews