We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest museum I have been in. Far from 'stuffy'.”
Review of Oriental Museum

Oriental Museum
Ranked #5 of 60 things to do in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: From Ancient Egypt to modern China, we are the only museum in the North of England devoted entirely to the art and archaeology of the great cultures of Northern Africa and Asia. The Oriental Museum is normally open Monday - Friday, 10am - 5pm and Saturday, Sunday and Bank Holidays, 12pm - 5pm.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Baby buggy parking, Stairs / lift
Reviewed 13 June 2017

Its only small but there are lots of really interesting items on display - organised according to country. The items are beautifully presented on separate floors / or part of floor per country.

The 'write ups' of the artefacts are on laminated sheets so you can read them easily whilst referring to even the smallest object. It was nice to be able to sit to read and look at the items on display.

I particularly went to see the Egyptian exhibits but found that those from other countries were so fascinating too.

They have catered for the ' less abled' very well - I have a bad hip and standing for a length of time is difficult but I found it easy to look around the museum.

I would return to this museum next time I visit the area.

I was parked in the local 'park and ride' and it is only a short walk to the museum and the entrance fee was a nominal 75p for senior citizen.

If in central Durham and you want to come out to the nearby ( park and ride) car park on the bus, for an easy walk to the museum, then take the PR2 Howlands bus and it doesn't take long. The fare was £2.

Staff very friendly.

2  Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllisonPercival, Museum Custodain at Oriental Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Many thanks for your kind review. We're really pleased that your enjoyed your visit. It is very helpful to receive feedback about accessibility for less-abled visitors.
Hope you can visit again soon!
Thanks from the Museum Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"ancient egypt"
in 6 reviews
"four floors"
in 6 reviews
"hidden gem"
in 21 reviews
"free lockers"
in 3 reviews
"interesting exhibits"
in 7 reviews
"durham university"
in 17 reviews
"wonderful collection"
in 3 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 22 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 12 reviews
"on display"
in 10 reviews
"small cafe"
in 6 reviews
"botanic gardens"
in 6 reviews
"two hours"
in 6 reviews
"fascinating place"
in 3 reviews
"family ticket"
in 4 reviews
"gift shop"
in 11 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 8 reviews
Filter

51 - 55 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2017

Include this small but fascinating museum in your visit, a little out of the way but with egyptian chinese and other ancient artifacts, is a very easy way to see some enthralling exhibits.make a detour, go here

1  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllisonPercival, Museum Custodian at Oriental Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Many thanks for your lovely review. We all feel lucky to work with such amazing artefacts!

Hope you can visit again soon to see our next temporary exhibition.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

This museum is not far from the centre of Durham, but feels quite out of the way. It is certainly worth visiting. The exhibits are extremely well displayed, and the whole museum is really well organised. There was so much to see that we spent an absorbing couple of hours there.

Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllisonPercival, Museum Custodian at Oriental Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

Many thanks for your positive review. We really appreciate your feedback!

Hope you can visit again soon.
Thanks from the Museum Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017

I love this place so much my husband enrolled me as a Friend of the Museum. The 75 pence admission fee for seniors has to be the bargain of the year.

As others have said it's quite small but they have changing exhibitions, hands-on days when you can look at some of the museum's collections up close and handle them and talks. Their talk on Chinese Court Dress was so interesting and the artefacts the Speaker brought were stunning.

There is a lovely shop from where my husband buys my gifts and a tea bar.

I look forward to many more lovely hours here.

1  Thank flowerlady64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia O, Administrator at Oriental Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. As you mentioned we do regularly rotate many of the items on display, and we have recently changed the displays in our Japan Gallery, so we have a 'tea' case, and new textiles. In the Marvels of China gallery we have recently put new textiles on display. We also have a visitor's top 10 Object guide which we hope everyone will enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2017

The Oriental museum is a hidden asset of Durham. Tucked away on the university site it's easy to miss. Theres a very small entry fee but the rang of exhibits is amazing - Ancient Egypt, Chinese and Japanese art and a range of fascinating artefacts.

2  Thank aliholth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oriental Museum also viewed

 

Been to Oriental Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing