We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Durham Oriental Museum a must!”
Review of Oriental Museum

Oriental Museum
Ranked #3 of 34 things to do in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: From Ancient Egypt to modern China, we are the only museum in the North of England devoted entirely to the art and archaeology of the great cultures of Northern Africa and Asia. The Oriental Museum is normally open Monday - Friday, 10am - 5pm and Saturday, Sunday and Bank Holidays, 12pm - 5pm.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Baby buggy parking, Lockers / storage
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Have been meaning to go here for years.
Finally made it today....And was not disappointed.
Easy to find and parking easy.
Very well laid out over four floors.
Excellent displays. Exquisite pieces.
2 hours well spent. If you are interested in archeology, ancient history, china, Egypt and Asia then this is definitely a must.

1  Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllisonPercival, Museum Custodian at Oriental Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Thanks for your review and we're glad that you finally got to visit the museum!

We hope you can visit again soon. We have our Diwali celebration on the 20th October 2017 which is always great fun. Details can be found on our website.

Many thanks from the Museum Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"ancient egypt"
in 6 reviews
"four floors"
in 6 reviews
"hidden gem"
in 21 reviews
"free lockers"
in 3 reviews
"interesting exhibits"
in 7 reviews
"durham university"
in 17 reviews
"wonderful collection"
in 3 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 22 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 12 reviews
"on display"
in 10 reviews
"small cafe"
in 6 reviews
"botanic gardens"
in 6 reviews
"two hours"
in 6 reviews
"fascinating place"
in 3 reviews
"family ticket"
in 4 reviews
"gift shop"
in 11 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 8 reviews
Filter

51 - 55 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2017

We attended as a family and had a wonderful time at this special event. The staff were SO busy but were very helpful and pleasant. Well worth a visit at any time

1  Thank anchorage25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

The oriental Museum at Durham University
Charges a miniscule entrance fee
And the collections exude quality.
Exhibits are from Japan, China,
Myanmar, Egypt and India.
Only the finest examples are here
It was worth the two hours that we spent
And I’m very glad that we went.

1  Thank PoetPete2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllisonPercival, Museum Custodian at Oriental Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thanks for your review. We do have an amazing collection which is a privilege to work with.

We hope that you can visit again soon. Our temporary exhibition will be changing at the end of September.

Many thanks from the Museum Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Came across this place by accident while looking for the park and ride (Howlands Farm) in Durham on google. We decided to visit when returning to the P&R. It is a five minute walk from the P&R, although it does have its own small car park. Lots of artefacts from various interesting countries spread over four floors. Admission was £1.50, well worth it. Staff were very knowledgeable and very helpful. If you come to the P&R at Howlands Farm at Durham, you need to visit this place.

2  Thank CaronIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllisonPercival, Museum Custodian at Oriental Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Many thanks for your review. We're glad that you enjoyed your time at the museum and can visit again soon!

Thanks from the Museum Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2017

Its only small but there are lots of really interesting items on display - organised according to country. The items are beautifully presented on separate floors / or part of floor per country.

The 'write ups' of the artefacts are on laminated sheets so you can read them easily whilst referring to even the smallest object. It was nice to be able to sit to read and look at the items on display.

I particularly went to see the Egyptian exhibits but found that those from other countries were so fascinating too.

They have catered for the ' less abled' very well - I have a bad hip and standing for a length of time is difficult but I found it easy to look around the museum.

I would return to this museum next time I visit the area.

I was parked in the local 'park and ride' and it is only a short walk to the museum and the entrance fee was a nominal 75p for senior citizen.

If in central Durham and you want to come out to the nearby ( park and ride) car park on the bus, for an easy walk to the museum, then take the PR2 Howlands bus and it doesn't take long. The fare was £2.

Staff very friendly.

2  Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllisonPercival, Museum Custodain at Oriental Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Many thanks for your kind review. We're really pleased that your enjoyed your visit. It is very helpful to receive feedback about accessibility for less-abled visitors.
Hope you can visit again soon!
Thanks from the Museum Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oriental Museum also viewed

 

Been to Oriental Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing