We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top museum in the North”
Review of Oriental Museum

Oriental Museum
Ranked #5 of 60 things to do in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: From Ancient Egypt to modern China, we are the only museum in the North of England devoted entirely to the art and archaeology of the great cultures of Northern Africa and Asia. The Oriental Museum is normally open Monday - Friday, 10am - 5pm and Saturday, Sunday and Bank Holidays, 12pm - 5pm.
Useful Information: Baby buggy parking, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift
Reviewed 9 August 2017

This is a quiet and unassuming museum with an outstanding collection that informs and thrills young and old alike, it does this by walking a fine line between something for everyone and a scholarly professionalism. The friendly staff make it a must for anyone who likes its history visual.

1  Thank Laurie2747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllisonPercival, Museum Custodian at Oriental Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Many thanks for such a lovely review. We do have wonderful collections and often rotate displays so there are new artefacts to see.

We hope that you can visit again soon!
Thanks from the Museum Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"ancient egypt"
in 6 reviews
"four floors"
in 6 reviews
"hidden gem"
in 20 reviews
"different cultures"
in 4 reviews
"free lockers"
in 3 reviews
"durham university"
in 18 reviews
"interesting collection"
in 3 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 21 reviews
"on display"
in 11 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 12 reviews
"two hours"
in 6 reviews
"botanic gardens"
in 6 reviews
"fascinating place"
in 3 reviews
"small cafe"
in 5 reviews
"family ticket"
in 4 reviews
"gift shop"
in 11 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 8 reviews
Filter

34 - 38 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2017

Have been meaning to go here for years.
Finally made it today....And was not disappointed.
Easy to find and parking easy.
Very well laid out over four floors.
Excellent displays. Exquisite pieces.
2 hours well spent. If you are interested in archeology, ancient history, china, Egypt and Asia then this is definitely a must.

1  Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllisonPercival, Museum Custodian at Oriental Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Thanks for your review and we're glad that you finally got to visit the museum!

We hope you can visit again soon. We have our Diwali celebration on the 20th October 2017 which is always great fun. Details can be found on our website.

Many thanks from the Museum Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

We attended as a family and had a wonderful time at this special event. The staff were SO busy but were very helpful and pleasant. Well worth a visit at any time

1  Thank anchorage25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

The oriental Museum at Durham University
Charges a miniscule entrance fee
And the collections exude quality.
Exhibits are from Japan, China,
Myanmar, Egypt and India.
Only the finest examples are here
It was worth the two hours that we spent
And I’m very glad that we went.

1  Thank PoetPete2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllisonPercival, Museum Custodian at Oriental Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thanks for your review. We do have an amazing collection which is a privilege to work with.

We hope that you can visit again soon. Our temporary exhibition will be changing at the end of September.

Many thanks from the Museum Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Came across this place by accident while looking for the park and ride (Howlands Farm) in Durham on google. We decided to visit when returning to the P&R. It is a five minute walk from the P&R, although it does have its own small car park. Lots of artefacts from various interesting countries spread over four floors. Admission was £1.50, well worth it. Staff were very knowledgeable and very helpful. If you come to the P&R at Howlands Farm at Durham, you need to visit this place.

2  Thank CaronIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllisonPercival, Museum Custodian at Oriental Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Many thanks for your review. We're glad that you enjoyed your time at the museum and can visit again soon!

Thanks from the Museum Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oriental Museum also viewed

 

Been to Oriental Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing