We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Great collection

A very broad range of items from across east Asia, all with very interesting boards of information... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Silver H
Surprisingly Good

We visited yesterday as we'd been meaning to call in for some time. Museum is well laid out with... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Brufsters
,
Durham, United Kingdom
Read all 312 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Durham
from US$332.06
More Info
from US$78.37
More Info
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveller rating
209
88
11
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
88
11
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ancient egypt egyptian collection four floors free lockers different cultures hidden gem interesting exhibits durham university well worth a visit on display botanical gardens entrance fee small cafe two hours gift shop family ticket adults and children
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 312 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2018

Wonderful area specialising in ancient Egyptian artefacts and information re The Paroahs , great exhibits.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank josied2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

Fantastic couple of hours out. There are two real mummies to look at too. Kept children entertained for hours. Learning without knowing as it's factual and fun.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018

What an amazing find! Great value too. Staff were very helpful, answering our questions. The museum came about in the 60's when Durham Uni had a large collection of Chinese items needing to be displayed, it grew from there with more Asian/Oriental countries donating extremely interesting artefacts over the years.
Very interesting collection, inc Egyptian hieroglyphs and mummies! The atmosphere is calm and tranquil & the low lighting added to the feel of the place (low-lit to protect the displays).
My wife is in a wheelchair and yet was able to see the WHOLE collection due to excellent facilities - inc lifts to all floors and disabled loos.
There's a small clean eating area to buy snacks and drinks plus an outdoor 'picnic' area for good weather, and a useful gift shop with plenty to choose from. It is small for parking & cafe but it really has all it needs as it is not on the tourist trail.
We spent over an hour there (but we were pushed for time) but you could easily spend 2 hours plus looking around & having a drink.
Will definitely visit again and bring our family.
Thank you Durham for this great museum.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank 712dibley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia O, Customer Services Officer at Oriental Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Thank you for our kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit. We are continually trying to improve the visitor experience so feedback like this is invaluable. we do hope you can visit again. We will be doing exhibition changeovers at the end of January 2019. We also host an ongoing series of talks and workshops so it is always worth checking on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

So much to see from regions all around the silk road. My favorite items were the chinese pottery. Lovely little cafe too!

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank john e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Lots of interesting artefacts wirh an area for children. The children's area has costumes, activities and colouring. My 7 year old grandson really enjoyed himself.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank mjbelldawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews