We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“History and entertainment”

DLI Museum and Durham Art Gallery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The museum tells the proud 200-year-old story of the Durham Light Infantry, especially during World War I and World War II. The displays focus on the experience of war, using letter and diary extracts, plus the actual voices of World War II veterans. Upstairs the Durham Art Gallery presents an exciting programme of exhibitions and events from concerts and talks to practical workshops for children and adults. Please ring for an exhibitions and events brochure.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“History and entertainment”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

If you love anythng to do with the historic aspects of the wars then you'll probably like this place. It has hostoric facts in abundance and displays and exhibitions/events are frequent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pchelper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    61
    8
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“AT TIMES A MOVING EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The DLI Museum display team know how to tug the heartstrings when dealing with modern warfare and do so cleverly with good use of artefacts and interpretation. Currently the whole place is very geared up to 20thC events which is understandable but I hope when this obsession with WWI and D-Day dies down their expertise is directed to telling the stories of the regiment's earlier times with as much care and expertise. Very approachable staff and having friends on site who are prepared to chat with visitors is an excellent augmentation.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Herne848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I took my toddler along to the DLI museum as a way of staying dry on a rainy day. The museum is based in a small wooded area, which I'm sure is lovely on a nice day, but we weren't able to fully appreciate it.

The content is all based around Durham's local regiment. There are lots of displays featuring uniforms, weapons and accoutrements. The second level has more displays of military vehicles and medals won by various local serviceman. The museum has a small cafe with light refreshments where we enjoyed a coffee and a muffin.

As an adult mildly interested in local military history, I loved it! My son however, less so. Walking through the displays there are lots of colours, bright, shiny things that had his interest - but there is also a lot of further information on plaques to read that I had to hurry past so that I could keep him engaged. The second floor has a very small kids play area with a few select toys that allowed me more time to indulge in the additional reading but ultimately what I'm trying to say is, that it's not really for young children IMO.

Reasonably priced, easy to find, pleasant staff, free car park and a good way to avoid the rain! Or, go on a sunny day and make the most of its lovely grounds.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GJCaesar100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“NICE MUSEUM IN GREAT SETTING”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The DLI Museum tells the history of the Durham Light Infantry. It is in a nice setting, there is a lovely pond and picnic area outside. When I visited the cafe was not open( no doubt due to government cuts).I wish we had taken a picnic. There are plenty of artillery and other weapons which youngsters of all ages can pose for photographs.
There were costumes for youngsters to get dressed up in.
They do lectures and educational woekshops might be worth checking if anything special is on before you go.
Fees are cheap and for an extra £1 you can visit all year.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Geordiefatther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Local History on display”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The Durham Light Infantryman museum tells the story of this local regiment. It's fascinating and has a free car park and a cafe.

Helpful?
2 Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed DLI Museum and Durham Art Gallery also viewed

 
Witton Gilbert, Durham
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing