We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Tired”
Review of The City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The City
Ranked #33 of 40 Durham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Stayed for one night on business in Durham, very tired room above a tired looking pub.
Had to pay with cash, they do not do breakfast, they could not give me a receipt at the time of paying and did not leave a receipt as promised when we left.. there was no one about when we left in the morning.
I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wayne_kilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 93 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2012

i've stayed at the city 3 times now, once in may that was ok but the owner was never about even though the pub was fairly busy. i went back with a few friends in july and new managers was in, i can't fault them,what a friendly polite couple,totally went out of their way for us,and the rooms was spotless clean and smelled very fresh, don't know what they had done but the pub was buzzing.
i went back 2 weeks ago and highly recommend to anyone wanting to stay over in durham,cheapest rooms around the centre and very local to everything.
chris and michelle are a great couple and really made us feel welcome.
thanks for that

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peter f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

This is above a pub on a main road in Durham. It's one plus side is that it's really close to the city centre so it's handy for sightseeing etc. The downsides are that from the room we were given you could literally hear word for word the conversations in the pub downstaris! The floor was wonky and the bathroom wasn't clean by any stretch of the imagination. It was so bad that we actually left, forfeiting our money, and found another hotel to stay in. I suppose it might be alright for the likes of a stag-do though...

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
5  Thank Stroodlebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MMM1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Rafael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horatius2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
550 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Castle View Guest House
2.1 mi away
Le Spada Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Farnley Tower
Farnley Tower
#21 of 40 in Durham
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The City

Address: 84 New Elvet, Durham DH1 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range: £79 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The City 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Inn s set in a 18th century building within the heart of Durham City Centre. We offer extensive wines, unique and tasteful food, Great Cask Ales & Immense Beers. Here at the City Inn we want to offer the most enjoyable and relaxing stay for your travels, as we are located in the heart of Durham City Centre. Situated in Durham’s historic city centre, and only a 10-minute walk from the rail station. The Durham Art Gallery and Durham Cathedral and Castle can also be reached after a 5-minute walk. Scenic strolls can be enjoyed next to the River Wear, which is just a 10-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing