We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for a quick cuppa”

Chapters Tea Rooms and Restaurant
Ranked #71 of 304 Restaurants in Durham
Price range: US$3 - US$10
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Independent tearooms serving home made scones,cakes,breakfast and lunch hand pressed Burgers,fresh sandwiches and salads. home made locally sourced fresh produce serving fresh italian coffee beans hand crafted with a wide selection of tea
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not bad for a quick cuppa”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

A nice place to duck in out of the rain...very pleasant staff, quick service and a nice cup of tea...not too pricey either

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    78
    48
    28
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best chips in town.”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Fab little spot for some lunch whilst enjoying a day in Durham city. Lovely home made chips, to accompany delicious sandwiches.

Service is polite and nothing is any trouble for the staff.

Also a brilliant spot for people watching and al fresco dining in the summer.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fat Chips and People watching”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Often pop into Chapters for a cup of Earl Grey or some fat chips with the kids. The fat chips are gorgeous.

Service is ok. I asked the waitress where the vinegar was. She pointed to right behind where I was sitting. Now she could have passed some over. It's a little quibble but it's the little things that count.

We love having a window seat and watching the world go by.

Please get a card machine it makes life so much easier. The little things......

Helpful?
1 Thank diccus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Slow service and mediocre food!”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We visited this cafe having found others full, with queues. In hindsight we probably should have waited elsewhere. I ordered 2 paninis and 2 teas, and as an after thought, I ordered a portion of chips.

We got our tea and had drunk 2 cups each before a small bowl of chips appeared. These were soft and greasy. About 10 minutes later our paninis arrived! My chicken tikka panini was awash in a tikka sauce with very little chicken in it.

Overall it was ok, however, we would have preferred to try one of the other cafés we had seen.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank redbrowny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
161 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“Good service and food”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Visited here on Mother's Day and they were quite happy to push some tables together to accommodate a largish group. We had a range of sandwiches and a couple of breakfasts and everything was good. We asked for a few changes to the dishes we ordered (no tomatoes on a sandwich for example) and everything came as requested.

Helpful?
4 Thank Tjackso2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chapters Tea Rooms and Restaurant also viewed

 
Durham, Durham
 

Been to Chapters Tea Rooms and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing