We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”
Review of Market Tavern

Market Tavern
Ranked #53 of 310 Restaurants in Durham
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Durhams second oldest pub and the only pub in the market place. We pride ourselves in having a range of local and national cask ales, craft beers in draught and bottle and great traditional food. Open 11am-11pm Sunday- Thursday 11am-1am Friday & Saturday Food served from 12pm Daily
Wakefield
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We called in for a drink and something to eat in between sightseeing and at The Cathedral and admiring the castle. Very welcoming staff and good service, they even assisted with the pushchair up the steps. We ordered food and it was served quickly and it was very enjoyable. All in all a very pleasant visit and will definitely call again when we visit Durham.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Strongbow110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    88
    24
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Atmosphere and Pub Meal”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

First Trip to Durham and managed to find this little place as the weather turned. Warm and quaint with sweet little booths. Meal was well presented and was great for "Pub-Grub". Would strongly recommend and would not hesitate to return in the future.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerritodorrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“evening meal”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

hadn't visited Durham before and popped in here for a quick evening meal after a long journey-staff were very friendly and helpful-the menu is limited-we had house burgers and they were very good and reasonably priced.The atmosphere was comfortable and we passed a pleasant evening.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trudi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Codfather the best fish and chips in town”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I have been coming to Durham for 3 years now on business. The Tavern is a welcoming place that has intetesting beers and a varied atmosphere depending on when you go in. The CodFather is the best fish & chips in town.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gazlaaaaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Great Pit Stop!”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

After spending an hour wandering aimlessly around the shops we decided it was time for a re charging of our batteries. As soon as I approached the bar and saw draught Peroni I knew I had found the ideal place.
Then we decided to peruse the menu, my wife decided to try the Nachos with pulled pork and I was tempted into the burger with pulled pork.
The food was excellent, well presented and filling. The burger was absolutely spot on and certainly worth trying.
The staff are very friendly and the whole place has a relaxing feel to it. It was a difficult choice but we eventually decided not to abandon the car and shopping to spend the afternoon sat here.
Well worth a visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank NorthExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Market Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Market Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing