We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cafe”
Review of Cottons - CLOSED

Cottons
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great cafe”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

When u open the door the staff greet you with a friendly smile, a bit of banter and a warm welcome . The coffees are great and the food second to none. I won't eat anywhere else in Durham. This is excellent

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    42
    10
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ferryhill
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Eaten here two weeks on the trot when been in Durham with my mam. The homemade quiche is to die for!!!!! Only down side is that there was none for me to take home!!!
Superb staff, made to feel welcome and wanted, unlike some of their neighbours!
We'll be back!!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Graham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Whilst eating my average dinner of leek and potato soup at this cafe/restaurant I over heard staff members having an inappropriate conversation about certain customers who had obviously been in the shop beforehand using words that should not have been used in earshot of other customers. This makes me think that they do this about every customer, therefore I will not be coming back because I did not feel comfortable

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RebzJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Favourite Haunt”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

One of my favourites in Durham whether it's breakfast, lunch or simply coffee n cake. Alway excellent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jim n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Afternoon Tea And Cakes”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My friend and I found Cottons while holidaying in Hartlepool and going into Durham for the day.
The first thing I noticed was the friendly atmosphere between staff not just customers they really
enjoyed what they were doing.
We ordered cakes then we saw the most amazing fruit scones they were so big ! so we had one of those as well.
Another amazing thing was a member of staff refilled my teapot FREE and in this day and age that in itself is very good.
My friend and I were very full by the time we had finished but liked the look of some other cakes as we were leaving the area the next day I asked a nice gentleman as I was paying if we could have two pieces of cake to take away, of coarse we could my friend chose hers and I had the best piece of fruit cake ive ever eaten it was so moist.

my advice to anybody who enjoys homemade food and cakes is try Cottons for a very pleasant experience. If I am ever up north again I will be back for more.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cottons also viewed

High Shincliffe, Durham
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing