We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Light Snack”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cottons - CLOSED

Cottons
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Light Snack”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Having visited this restaurant on many visits to Durham it never fails to disappoint, the location ambiance and quality of food is tip-top.
The staff who are numerous are worked off their feet and always have a smile for the customers are pleasant and very hard working.
The Bacon and Sausage sandwich that I enjoyed was really tasty and the toasted teacake enjoyed by my wife looked really nice.
Prices were as follows:
Pot of tea for 2 = £3
Toasted teacake = £1.80
Butchers bacon and sausage sandwich = £3.40.
I have no negative comments other than being tormented by sitting next to all the delicious cakes and having to resist the urge to gorge.
It is more of a cafe than a restaurant so no need to book a table.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grumblepot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    43
    10
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Tucked away below and behind the shops, Cottons is a favourite with the locals. The food is always excellent quality and consistent. The steak pie is to die for! Excellent range of puddings made with fresh cream!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mandeep960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

When u open the door the staff greet you with a friendly smile, a bit of banter and a warm welcome . The coffees are great and the food second to none. I won't eat anywhere else in Durham. This is excellent

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferryhill
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Eaten here two weeks on the trot when been in Durham with my mam. The homemade quiche is to die for!!!!! Only down side is that there was none for me to take home!!!
Superb staff, made to feel welcome and wanted, unlike some of their neighbours!
We'll be back!!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Graham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Whilst eating my average dinner of leek and potato soup at this cafe/restaurant I over heard staff members having an inappropriate conversation about certain customers who had obviously been in the shop beforehand using words that should not have been used in earshot of other customers. This makes me think that they do this about every customer, therefore I will not be coming back because I did not feel comfortable

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RebzJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cottons also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing