We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”

Museum of Archaeology
Ranked #41 of 60 things to do in Durham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Museum of Archaeology's collections range from the prehistoric to the post-medieval. Our gallery showcasing the Museum's collections is open at Palace Green Library, located on the first floor. A permanent gallery uses objects from Museum of Archaeology, alongside objects from across Durham University and other regional museums to explore the last 10,000 years of Durham. Living on the Hills explores the lives of people who have lived and visited Durham through the tools and everyday objects they used, and the art and architecture they left behind to be rediscovered. Discover Prehistoric objects found by chance at the turn of the century, Roman objects uncovered by Victorian antiquarians and Medieval objects found during 1970s archaeological excavations. Entry to the gallery is free for everyone. The previous Old Fulling Mill Museum of Archaeology on the banks of the river Wear is now closed to the public.
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Interesting exhibits housed upstairs in the Palace Green Library building. Fossils etc well displayed.

Thank traveller1926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

7 - 11 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2017

The palace Green Library houses a superb exhibition. The Living on the Hills, 10,000 years of Durham exhibits are free to view and are well worth visiting.

Thank lakelover908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

he good news is that it is free. The exhibits were interesting. However, the lighting when we were there was so bad that many of the smaller objects were impossible to see: peering at dark silhouettes was frustrating and uninformative. Maybe the lights were turned down because there was no-one else in. There isn't much excuse for an invisible display, even if you don't charge for it. I considered buying a couple of books in the bookshop but they were all so tightly wrapped in plastic I figured browsing was not allowed.

Thank 3derek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia O, Manager at Museum of Archaeology, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

We were disappointed to hear your difficulty with the lighting. However, you should be pleased to hear that we have now replaced many of the bulbs with new LED's in the cases, which makes a great difference to the lighting levels. I hope you will consider visiting again.

We now (July 2017) have on display in our Roman section, the first complete Fleet Diploma. Found in 2016 by metal detectorist Mark Houston near Lanchester, Co. Durham, this is the first complete Fleet Diploma to be discovered in the country and reveals the identity of one of Britain’s first named sailors. We hope this adds to the local interest in this gallery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Exhibition was fairly comprehensive. Could have done with a local map to indicate whereabouts of sites/finds.
Also interspersed with WW1 items.
Confusing having sign to Museum pointing down to the river!

1  Thank phoebsp483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2016

The first thing to say is that if you come out of the Cathedral heading for the Museum of Archaeology then don't follow the sign pointing down a path to your left. It appears that is where it used to be but it is now in the Palace Green Library so go straight ahead. The exhibition "Living on the Hills" in the Museum of Archaeology is free and well worth visiting. You have to climb the stairs on your left as you enter the Palace Green Library and the exhibition is housed in a rather dark room with no staff present. There are many archaeological exhibits and particularly interesting was the comparison of modern tools with ancient ones. The exhibits cover prehistoric times up to the present day. Roman finds and medieval finds are exhibited. There is a touch screen display which is excellent showing women's work during World War I and many more things. However, there is a problem with it since the computer didn't have all the necessary software to view all parts of the display and, sadly, some of it could not be accessed. However, it was excellent for a free exhibition.

1  Thank Edmund R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia O, Front Office Manager at Museum of Archaeology, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Thank you for your review. We hope that the collection is interesting, but due to the conservation needs of the objects the lights are kept low.

At the moment the touch screen includes the community curated exhibition Munitionettes & Miners' which was created by students, and we hope you found interesting.

Once that exhibition closes then the touch screens will be adjusted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of Archaeology also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Archaeology? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing