We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This museum was why we had our day out”

Museum of Archaeology
Ranked #41 of 60 things to do in Durham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Museum of Archaeology's collections range from the prehistoric to the post-medieval. A major new gallery showcasing the Museum's collections is now open at Palace Green Library. A new permanent gallery uses objects from Museum of Archaeology, alongside objects from across Durham University and other regional museums to explore the last 10,000 years of Durham. Living on the Hills explores the lives of people who have lived and visited Durham through the tools and everyday objects they used, and the art and architecture they left behind to be rediscovered. Discover Prehistoric objects found by chance at the turn of the century, Roman objects uncovered by Victorian antiquarians and Medieval objects found during 1970s archaeological excavations. Entry to the gallery is free for everyone. The previous Old Fulling Mill Museum of Archaeology on the banks of the river Wear is now closed to the public.
Reviewed 24 August 2017

This is a very well-explained Archeology museum, and very conveniently placed, in its new site at Palace Green. We particularly were interested in the iron age and Roman period and it didn't disappoint.

Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham C, Manager at Museum of Archaeology, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you think the new location is convenient and we appreciate feedback from visitors.

We do have a strong Roman collection and the recent addition of the Lanchester Diploma has certainly added to the displays. We also details about more of the collection online, the link for which can be found through our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"palace green library"
in 5 reviews
"the river"
in 6 reviews
"housed"
in 3 reviews
"school"
in 3 reviews
"information"
in 5 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2017

Interesting exhibits housed upstairs in the Palace Green Library building. Fossils etc well displayed.

Thank traveller1926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

The palace Green Library houses a superb exhibition. The Living on the Hills, 10,000 years of Durham exhibits are free to view and are well worth visiting.

Thank lakelover908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

he good news is that it is free. The exhibits were interesting. However, the lighting when we were there was so bad that many of the smaller objects were impossible to see: peering at dark silhouettes was frustrating and uninformative. Maybe the lights were turned down because there was no-one else in. There isn't much excuse for an invisible display, even if you don't charge for it. I considered buying a couple of books in the bookshop but they were all so tightly wrapped in plastic I figured browsing was not allowed.

Thank 3derek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia O, Manager at Museum of Archaeology, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

We were disappointed to hear your difficulty with the lighting. However, you should be pleased to hear that we have now replaced many of the bulbs with new LED's in the cases, which makes a great difference to the lighting levels. I hope you will consider visiting again.

We now (July 2017) have on display in our Roman section, the first complete Fleet Diploma. Found in 2016 by metal detectorist Mark Houston near Lanchester, Co. Durham, this is the first complete Fleet Diploma to be discovered in the country and reveals the identity of one of Britain’s first named sailors. We hope this adds to the local interest in this gallery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Exhibition was fairly comprehensive. Could have done with a local map to indicate whereabouts of sites/finds.
Also interspersed with WW1 items.
Confusing having sign to Museum pointing down to the river!

1  Thank phoebsp483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of Archaeology also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Archaeology? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing