We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Kingslodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kingslodge Hotel
Ranked #6 of 37 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton-on-Tees
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed here for 1 night, hotel staff were very welcoming and decent sized room which was nice and clean. Location was excellent as it was only a 10 minute walk into centre. Think it was a touch on the expensive side but overall no problems and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davs56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingslodgereviews, General Manager at Kingslodge Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for your review. You will find that the hotel rates are very competitive in the Durham area. Included in our price is full English breakfast and parking. Not all hotels include these in their price. However, I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your review and hope you will come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    110
    37
    13
    4
See reviews for
49
130
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed for just one night and the hotel is central. We stayed in room 20 which is above the entrance. The room was nice although it was on the small side. Tea/coffee making facilities were squished in a corner, making it difficult to get to. A small fan on the dresser was a god send as the room was quite hot. We had a full English breakfast which was nice but small portion. Cereals and fruit juices were also available.

I thought the price at £85 a night was a little steep.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kitten69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingslodgereviews, General Manager at Kingslodge Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
If you think that an hotel room is a little overpriced, I would suggest that you ring the hotel direct. You can sometimes pick up offers that are not always displayed on booking agency websites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Stayed in the Kingslodge Hotel Durham for three nights, nice Hotel in a secluded part of Durham walking distance to the Railway Station, staff are very attentive and welcoming, nice gardens with lots of seating around, very clean rooms with everything you need, hairdryer ironing board and iron, teas and coffee with chocolates and biscuits. Sadly there is a lot of building work going on in the adjacent plot which are causing lots noise and dust, the staff are working extra hard to keep this at bay. 'Finbarr's' restaurant which is part of the hotel is first class, food is just amazing as is the service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo-lady48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingslodgereviews, Manager at Kingslodge Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We have been assured that the worst of the building noise is now over and all heavy machinery has ben removed from site. WE do hope to see your again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Recently stayed here for two nights in the very hot weather. The rooms were extraordinarily hot but luckily they had provided a fan, (which was needed all through the night).

As noted there is redevelopment going on beside the hotel.but it doesn't really impact other than having to pass it.

Breakfast was nice, the staff were attentive.We didn't use the restaurant but it was busy both evenings.

The one query I would have, is the cost for the room . Although the room was pleasant and decor nice enough, it was a little 'tired' in places and I would say it is a little too much (£85 for two B & B)

Room Tip: Insist on a fan for the room, especially in the current weather!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarsFanDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingslodgereviews, Manager at Kingslodge Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We have a fan in every room, so you do not need to remember to ask for one. Also, you will find that we are quite competitive when it comes to pricing. We do advise that guests contact the hotel direct for the best prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Very convenient for the city, shops and university. Good parking on site. Good bar area and excellent restaurant joined to hotel but separately run. Book restaurant in advance, especially at weekends or at busy times.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eshergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingslodgereviews, Manager at Kingslodge Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Your remark regarding the restaurant is quite correct. It is a popular and busy restaurant and we do recommend that guests place reservations in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of May during our overseas trip from New Zealand.
The location was central and easily found by car. Although some redevelopment was taking place alongside, this didn't affect us; our room & ensuite bathroom were very comfortable and we didn't notice any undue noise even with windows open.
Due to its central location, we were able to easily walk to see both the castle and the cathedral on the day we arrived from Cambridge but at the same time, whilst walking there we were able to enjoy High Street and see the rail viaduct with trains travelling across it(we are railway enthusiasts).We had a hire car and appreciated being able to park it on site, and the ease with which we could leave and return by car during our days trips both south and north of Durham.
Enjoyed our breakfasts very much, and wished we'd remembered to book in time for one of our evening meals as the menu and food from the dinners we did have were excellent. All staff. especially the restaurant and reception personnel helped make our Hotel stay extremely enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janjohn38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingslodgereviews, Manager at Kingslodge Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Absolutely wonderful review. You are a lovely couple and it was a pleasure to have you at our hotel. We thank you and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skien, Norway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

This is a nice little hotel just a short walk from the centre of Durham. The room was clean and we slept well. The staff did a good job. The breakfast was a good. Nice garden on both sides. There was a building site just by, but we were not disturbed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilotbrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingslodgereviews, Manager at Kingslodge Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
We all thank you for placing your review. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 19 in Durham
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
5.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,031 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Town House Durham
The Town House Durham
#4 of 37 in Durham
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingslodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingslodge Hotel

Property: Kingslodge Hotel
Address: Waddington Street | Flass Vale, Durham DH1 4BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingslodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kingslodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing