We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very welcoming”
Review of Kingslodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kingslodge Hotel
Ranked #6 of 37 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very welcoming”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

friendly and professional welcome. Comfortable, clean room - complete with all amenities in room.
Staff excellent at breakfast with lots of knowlege of gluten free products - would recommend to
family and friends. Will definitely stay here next year for cricket matches.

Room Tip: single room 16 perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendylinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingslodgereviews, Manager at Kingslodge Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    110
    37
    13
    4
See reviews for
49
131
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield west yorks
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Comfortable, spacious room with character let down slightly by the cheap looking bed & mattress. Friendly & helpful staff, great location with a short stroll into the city. Restaurant is very popular ( & expensive)! so parking can be an issue in the evening on weekends. All in all an ideal base to discover the charms of Durham.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear avoid the construction site opposite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingslodgereviews, Manager at Kingslodge Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Pleased that you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

First thing to say about our stay is that the staff were VERY helpful at every stage. We were driving to Durham and arriving early in the morning. The guy we spoke to generously offered for us to park in the carpark before we checked in, providing we let them know we were there etc.
Even better when we arrived around 11am we were told that our room was ready and we checked in 3 hours early! I'm sure the hotel will say they can't guarantee this but the parking arrangement alone made it much easier for us.

The room wasn't the biggest but was very comfortable, perfectly clean and with all the amenities you'd expect. The only reason I've not rated this excellent is because the bathroom could do with a bit of maintenance, and if you are of a size similar to me (I'm 6ft 3") then the shower will be a little on the cramped side for you. However don't let this put you off as it was only a minor thing and didn't detract from the stay.
People have mentioned the building site opposite, we stayed in room 3 which faces the building work and experienced NO NOISE at all, and we stayed during the week when work was ongoing.

Breakfast was really nice, its served in the adjoining restaraunt (Finbarrs) which we also had a meal in at the night time and the food is EXCELLENT and great value for money.

Location is great too, it is about a 5-10 minute walk from the centre of Durham where all the bars and eateries are, along with the Cathedral and Castle.

Overall if you're driving up to Durham to stay, I'd make this the first place you look at as it'll take the stress out of the trip for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BazinSalford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingslodgereviews, Manager at Kingslodge Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Pleased you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed one night. The room (13) plenty big enough and nicely furnished. As we considered the Restaurant, which is attached to the hotel, a trifle expensive we decided to walk into the centre of Durham which was but a short walk away. The room was at the back of the hotel and thus away from any disturbance that might have occurred at the front with building work nearby. The windows were double glazed but as it was quite warm we had them open and slept well until early morning when we were woken by the kitchen staff cheerfully greeting each other at the start of the day! The staff pleasant and helpful and breakfast in the Finbarr’s Restaurant was good. There was free wifi.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crassus25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

My friend and I stayed at this hotel during August and couldn't fault it at all. The twin room we shared was situated at the back of the hotel which was fine. As reported before there is some building work going on at one side but we didn't experience any noise. Obviously we were out all day so any work was carried out during that time. The room was spotless and chambermaids were friendly and helpful. Even advising us on the location of various places of interest. Our room was cleaned and towels changed every day. On our last evening we booked a table for us and my niece, and although it wasn't cheap very enjoyable and of course a treat whilst being on holiday.
All in all a wonderful time and will be returning again in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mildred1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed for two nights at this well run hotel. It has a variety of rooms of different sizes. Our was one of the smaller ones. However it was very comfortable and well decorated; the bathroom was a good size and very clean. There is a nice lounge for residents with free coffee and biscuits throughout the day. As our room was small and there was no easy chair, we would have liked to use the lounge in the evening, but it was closed up at about 6.30 pm when the reception closed.
There were comfortable seats in the bar area, but we would have preferred the lounge. The real bonus for this hotel is Finbarr's restaurant which is attached to the hotel, although under separate management. We ate there on our first evening. It is a lovely restaurant, with good food and friendly staff. Our breakfasts were also served there and were very good.
It is a short walk into the city centre and very close to the railway station.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelB186330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed at the Kings Lodge with another couple on a city break.
The hotel was surprisingly close to the town centre but neatly tucked away in a quiet spot and only 5 mins walk from the railway station which was very convenient as we travelled by rail from Halifax. Staff were very helpful and friendly
The rooms were lovely and the bed was extremely comfortable (room 13) and the hotel has a traditional style
The restaurant was surprisingly contemporary in style and décor compared to the rooms and breakfast was very tasty. The restaurant staff were very obliging, bringing us extra tea, coffee and toast.
The only negative comment we have was the pricey drinks in the bar, but nonetheless it is a hotel I will recommend to friends and family

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyleonard41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 19 in Durham
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
5.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,031 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Town House Durham
The Town House Durham
#4 of 37 in Durham
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingslodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingslodge Hotel

Property: Kingslodge Hotel
Address: Waddington Street | Flass Vale, Durham DH1 4BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingslodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kingslodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing