We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“no complaints”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kingslodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kingslodge Hotel
Ranked #6 of 39 Durham B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“no complaints”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Spent this weekend in durham was lovely . Would recommend this hotel to friends 10 minutes walk and you are in the city centre and car parked for free in hotel car park whole time. Had our evening meal in finnbarr s was very busy staff very friendly and helpful food delicious. Breakfast was good no problems there again staff friendly and efficient. Our room was very clean and tidy no problems with mattress or bedding ??? bathroom spotless fresh towels each day. Didn't go into bar as we walked to centre both nights to watch local bands in the pubs. All in all great hotel with great location already planning our next trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lez2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingslodgereviews, Manager at Kingslodge Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your time in Durham. Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    107
    37
    13
    4
See reviews for
49
126
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

First the positives, the location is excellent, the staff are nice and friendly and there is a really nice atmosphere. The bar is great and Finbarr's restaurant is very good (that's the main reason we booked in here), one of the best we have found in Durham city. The negatives, the hotel is tired and needs investment, the beds need better mattresses and bed linen. The cooked breakfast (which I really enjoy when it is good) is very poor, the ingredients clearly are cheap and are poorly cooked. My sausage looked as if it had been boiled, I pity the hen that laid such poor eggs, the mushrooms were not even cooked properly, crisp is good, raw is not. I asked that the mushrooms be cooked properly only to find them returned to me in a matter of seconds and they were exactly the same so I gave up and just left most of it. I asked for low fat milk to put in my tea which is no big deal in most hotels and restaurants but I was told they only do full fat milk which I hate, why on earth do they not have low fat milk? Someone needs to get hold of this and sort it out as it is so poor and reflects badly on the hotel even though it is not run by the hotel. Why can't the chef who is cooking in the evening not be put in charge of ensuring that the breakfast meets the standards of the evening menu? Would come back if they get a grip on this, otherwise we will continue our hunt to find a decent hotel in Durham city, that is reasonably priced and can produce good food.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodluvr31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just outside the town centre, a non concrete box type of hotel with some character that we like. Well fitted out in all areas and clean. The staff are all very polite, smiling, chatty and welcoming. Bedrooms comfortable and well kitted and clean. Nice bar area. Great breakfast. Would return if staying in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanandBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingslodgereviews, Manager at Kingslodge Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Lovely review. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Very good location to walk into durham city for castle and cathedral and close to railway station.plus car parking space which comes at a premium in a place like durham. Rooms are comfortable and restaurant and bar good,Also very quiet

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobcop_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingslodgereviews, Manager at Kingslodge Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Hotel is situated right next to the beautiful Flass Vale, brilliant for that early morning walk before breakfast. You will probably be getting up early as the hotel lounge which is the hub of any hotel where you can chat with other guests and have the odd brandy closes at 7pm. So what do we do, we tried the bar next door, closed! so off to bed for that early night and dreams of the full English in the morning.
Breakfast nicely cooked but had to ask for sauce, bread and marmalade and no plain yoghurts. Room clean but small, bed was fine. Staff are obliging.
If you are going to stay here don't forget to take a jigsaw puzzle or crossword book for the long evenings and have your late night brandy before 7pm.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front face the railway viaduct so could be a bit noisy if window is open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingslodgereviews, Manager at Kingslodge Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
We do have a residents lounge which serves free tea, coffee and biscuits. This is open from 7.00am until reception closes. The lounge was closed at 9.30 pm on the night in question. The lounge is closed for security purposes. The bar closed early that evening for refurbishment and all guests were told to expect this. However, it did not close until approx 10.00 pm that evening. The guests that made this review left the hotel in a taxi, booked by reception, at 6.50 that evening, for a meal in town, and had not arrived back until after 10.00pm. We are sorry that this has inconvenienced them but everyone was pre-warned. Also, I must state that this is a one off occurrence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This could be a charming place, but the rooms really need refurbishing (tired, stained armchairs, old carpeting). Worst of all, the windows are sealed shut, with only a small fan provided. This is quite claustrophobic and uncomfortable when the weather is warm outside.
We only tried the continental breakfast, which was decent and came with 2 soft boiled eggs.
The evening meal in the restaurant was very good, with good service too.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hi_from_Benelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingslodgereviews, Manager at Kingslodge Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
The hotel is furnished in an old country house style which is in keeping with the building and its surroundings. We do not do minimalistic and chrome fittings. The windows do open, but being sash windows you have to pull the top window down to the level of the bottom window. Each room also has a fan to help cool the room. However, I do thank you for taking the time to place your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This was the second time I had stayed here, this time with my husband and daughter. I really like the atmosphere of a smaller hotel and this is in a stress free location for Durham, being far enough away to have spacious free parking but only 10 minutes walk to the very centre. Our room was spacious and the beds very comfortable. The bar was a nice place too relax after packing up a student room! Service was very efficient too. Breakfast was great, freshly cooked and just the right amount. Value for money is great too. We much prefer this hotel to the chains and will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjj99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingslodgereviews, Manager at Kingslodge Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are a small hotel and are able to give the personal touch which makes your stay warm and welcoming. There is a nature reserve at the rear of the hotel which give the setting of the hotel a country feel. Finbarr's restaurant, where breakfast is served, is one of the finest quality restaurants in the town and they too will be pleased by your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
0.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
1,975 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingslodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingslodge Hotel

Property: Kingslodge Hotel
Address: Waddington Street | Flass Vale, Durham DH1 4BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingslodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kingslodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing