We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Three Horseshoes Inn
Ranked #10 of 37 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Placerville, ca
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This place is by its self out in the countryside. It has very pretty views but is a 10+ minute drive from Durham. When we arrived the place was dark and we thought it was closed. We knocked on the door and was shown to our room. It was a family room with a full bed and bunk beds, a good size for our family. It's an old building and could use some TLC. The staff were very nice and helpful. The best part of the stay here was the amazing full English breakfast that was included.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calsierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    49
    19
    6
    8
See reviews for
45
63
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Spennymoor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Had a meal booked for Christmas Eve. Bog standard pub grub. Prices not cheap for the standard of food. You need to order at the bar. One meal ordered did not have potatoes as asked but served with chips. Pork chops well over cooked but tasted ok. The fish and the sweet/sour chicken both Ok. Not many people in for food nor many drinkers so the atmosphere was a little flat.Tried it but would not rush back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kavmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I stayed here for the weekend on a recent holiday and it was a great base to explore the local area. The views are amazing yet you are very close to Durham City and all it has to offer.
The food is good value and served with a smile. The rooms are reasonably priced for the area and are cosy and well maintained for a building of this age.
Owners are friendly and will do anything to help out.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasper P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

If you're thinking of eating here don't bother, two out of three meals were in edible - slop in an old dish, microwaved, £10+. We have one star because it was pretty easy to park and there are nice views outside. We complained to the staff and the food wasn't replaced and still charged full price - we went home hungry. It was outrageous.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank QueenofErebor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights along with our grandchildren on the Tuesday night. We had a very comfortable stay and the meals were really good and the menu offers a lot of choice. The pub does need a lot of modernisation and upgrading but the owners were brilliant, absolutely and so friendly as are the locals we met. The staff cannot do enough for you and I forget her name but the bar maid was lovely. We had a huge breakfast in the morning and would definately call again if in the area.

Thank you all so much for making our stay so pleasurable.

Room Tip: We had one at front and found it cosy; number 6. Although at front of pub we were not disturbed by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whitwham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed for two nights at this Inn. Staff were friendly and efficient, food was usual pub fare but Chicken Curry was excellent. Breakfast was terrific and set us up for a days sightseeing. If we are back in this area we will certainly use this Hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed for three nights and had no complaints. The inn is situated next to a busy road but road noise was not an issue . Parking is easy right outside the private residents entrance and Durham is an easy 10 minutes drive away. The rooms are spacious enough and thoroughly cleaned each morning, and although the décor is somewhat faded this did not detract from the experience. The tea making facilities in the rooms are exceptionally generous as is the food portions . The quality of the food was also of a high standard.
Rooms 2 and 6 have only over bath shower units which is less than ideal if mobility is an issue.
Of particular note was the friendliness of the staff who can offer the more personal touch, sometimes lacking in the larger chain hotels . I would certainly recommend the three horseshoes for anyone looking for a friendly quiet hotel within easy reach of Durham.

Room Tip: Avoid room 6 which has a continual low hum from somewhere and has no Wi-Fi access
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 202steven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
3.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
10.8 mi away
Bowes Incline Hotel
Bowes Incline Hotel
#10 of 20 in Gateshead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
3.5 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,008 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bowburn Hall
Bowburn Hall
#11 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Horseshoes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Horseshoes Inn

Property: Three Horseshoes Inn
Address: | Running Waters, Durham DH1 2SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Three Horseshoes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Three Horseshoes Hotel Durham
3 Horseshoes Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing