We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wee spot!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Three Horseshoes Inn
Ranked #8 of 37 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great wee spot!!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Ideal location just outside of the city (5 min drive) cheerful owner who loves to spin a yarn! You will never leave this b&b hungry! the food was fantastic and plentiful, would highly recommended the English breakfast i didnt need to eat anything until that night! Be aware though that it is also a pub and that on our night some patrons made a bit of noise leaving. However i would still stay here again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donjerous-Jordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    51
    20
    6
    8
See reviews for
46
71
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay. It is so refreshing to eat somewhere that the food is all home cooked. The portions were great value for money and the breakfasts kept us going all day. The owners and staff so friendly and helpful nothing is to much trouble.
Rooms clean and airy the decor does not worry us as we were there to sleep not be critical.
It was great for our dogs and some lovely walks.
We will definitely stay again when we are next up that way.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarthaP1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

we have just stayed for the second time and once again we had a great time. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The breakfast will take some beating and we ate in the evening all was very good. our break was over a long weekend and on the Monday night there was a quiz which was good fun everyone joined in. They said there was food after the quiz FREE I though this would be sandwiches oh no it was dam near a full meal.(FREE by the way). We would not hesitate to recommend anyone to stay here. Thank you again for a great time will see you soon
Sandra and Alan

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This inn is in the middle of beautiful countryside (which we never really saw because of fog). The owners and staff are friendly, welcoming and helpful. Food is the usual standard fare for a pub. Evening meals :Plenty of it and piping hot, but really just average. Breakfast: anything you could want and plenty of it! But again just average.
However, the whole place has a sad and neglected feel about it. The bar and restaurant both need updating or at least a good clean! We were given a key to come and go which avoided the bar. The stairs up to the bedrooms are frankly a disgrace. The carpet is so dirty that it did not bode well for our room. However, our room was at least clean although in desperate need of decorating. It reminded me of a prison cell. A small double bed and metal bunk beds in 4 grey walls and the bed linen-although clean- had seen much better days. There was mold on the ceiling with paint falling off and also mold in the bathroom tiles. When we were out all day the towels were changed/bed made/ bins emptied etc but it would be really hard to make this room look better without a complete makeover! A very loud noise next to our room (the boiler?) made watching TV difficult. Thankfully went off about 10pm. A chair would also have been useful!

Room Tip: ok for a couple of nights and if you are out all day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirkglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We arrived mid afternoon on Saturday, we were greeted by the owner, he was very welcoming & informative. We were shown to ur rooms which I have to say are a little tired. However, we found every thing we needed & were offered fresh milk for our coffee. Following unpacking and a little rest in our rooms,(comfortable, clean beds). We met in the bar area for a pre-dinner drink, a good selection of draught beers are available,along with wines. Our meals were delicious, a varied menu is available as well as a specials board, we were all happy with our food. Breakfast was equally as delicious with a very good choice available. The best part of our stay by far was the service, the staff couldn't have been nicer, friendly and helpful. We would definitely return if we were in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, ours was at the front and the road is very busy even at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirelass86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placerville, ca
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This place is by its self out in the countryside. It has very pretty views but is a 10+ minute drive from Durham. When we arrived the place was dark and we thought it was closed. We knocked on the door and was shown to our room. It was a family room with a full bed and bunk beds, a good size for our family. It's an old building and could use some TLC. The staff were very nice and helpful. The best part of the stay here was the amazing full English breakfast that was included.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calsierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spennymoor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Had a meal booked for Christmas Eve. Bog standard pub grub. Prices not cheap for the standard of food. You need to order at the bar. One meal ordered did not have potatoes as asked but served with chips. Pork chops well over cooked but tasted ok. The fish and the sweet/sour chicken both Ok. Not many people in for food nor many drinkers so the atmosphere was a little flat.Tried it but would not rush back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kavmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
3.5 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 19 in Durham
482 reviews
10.8 mi away
Bowes Incline Hotel
Bowes Incline Hotel
#10 of 20 in Gateshead
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bowburn Hall
Bowburn Hall
#10 of 19 in Durham
391 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
7.1 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Horseshoes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Horseshoes Inn

Property: Three Horseshoes Inn
Address: | Running Waters, Durham DH1 2SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Three Horseshoes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Horseshoes Inn
Three Horseshoes Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing