We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”
Review of Bowburn Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bowburn Hall
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Durham
durham city
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Food in the restaurant is always lovely. But I regularly use it for Bar Meals. Reasonably priced, but made fresh and piping hot on delivery. Food always excellent and Craig Manager and Chris Chef cant do enough for you. Very nice friendly family atmosphere, definitely better than its sister hotel Ramside!
I have attended weddings, christenings, Sunday lunches, themed evenings, birthday parties and will continue to be a regular as long as the standard remains! Well done, there are not many places I can say that about, and I eat out a lot!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    116
    75
    30
    23
See reviews for
134
119
11
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The location is a bit strange, housing estates have grown up around it, but close to A1 & Durham. I have been here several times to eat previously, but never stayed before. It offers excellent value for money, the atmosphere is good & it is clearly well frequented by the locals for food.Yes as one other reviewer said it is a bit dated & tired, but the room was clean, bed very comfortable, staff excellent, food is basic, but giant portions & of a good standard. Breakfast on day 1 was excellent, on day 2 disappointing. Overall, both the colleague that I was travelling with & myself would stay there again when in the North East. It is a pleasant change from the normal souless business hotels. Only one small gripe about the otherwise friendly & helpful service - i told them I had no hairdryer in the room - I would have expected that to be checked & corrected, rather than being told I could get a spare from reception!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We went for a meal only - we didn't stay at the hotel. The food was OK - "pub grub" rather than restaurant standard. The chips (which seemed to accompany most meals) were a little greasy and appeared to be the standard "frozen" type, rather than the thick, handcut ones. The vegetables were mostly peas... The staff were very friendly and the surroundings fine. Not a bad meal, just not special in any way....

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vintage1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Have visited Bowburn Hall on previous occasions for family celebrations, and have enjoyed it, but we were very disappointed by the standard of service in the restaurant on Mothers Day this year. It wasn't cheap so we were hoping for something special, but the food was average and the service very poor. We waited for lengthy periods to be served, and were at no point asked the usual question as to whether everything was ok. Sorry Bowburn Hall but on this occasion you let us down badly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank durhamfamily036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on tuesday 21st feburary with my wife and everytime we stay it gets better and better the staff were so helpful especially kayleigh who was serving the breakfast area she gave 1st class customer service she is a credit to the hotel and the food was amazing and we will be stopping here again and i wpuld reccomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robwright00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Luckily we had our sat nav as this hotel would be pretty hard to find otherwise as it is in the middle of housing estate!

staff were friendly enough and attentive and would do anything for you!

found it to be a very old and dated hotel a bit on the shabby side rooms basic and old fashioned wallpaper peeling and what looked like wallpaper peeling from the ceiling also! if you get a room on the top floor we were in room 29 be prepared to struggle if you have a big bag as the stairways and hallways on the way up are very very narrow!

bath and shower in bathroom! tv with basic freeview channels i'm quite tall about 6ft and my feet was hannging off the bed the bed was that small but it was extremely comfortable and slept really well!

when i booked this hotel it said it was only a few miles from durham city centre and newcastle! was about 20 mins drive into durham city centre! and about 30-35 mins into newcastle where we went to massive shopping centre that is the metro!

we drank in the bar the 2 nights we stayed ther found the prices rather dear a wkd and a pint of cider for £7.50 mabye im used to cheaper up my way but everytime i had a pint i stood at the bar and allways had to ask them to fill it up again before i took it away as they were allways trying to put a head on the pint of cider you could have put a flake into to make a 99 cone!

my partner had a meal on the first night when we were their would say the food is very basic and nothing exciting and way over priced for what it was but suppose with the portion size is their or their abouts ok!

we paid the extra 16 pounds for the 2 nights to get a cooked breakfast but their is a free continental breakfast their which consists of fruit fruit juices and cereal!

be prepared though as where you go to have breakfast is really cold in the conservatory! when going to have the fruit juice on the first and 2nd day it didn't look like the glasses had never seen a cloth to wash them mabye only rinsed out as they were extremely dirty n full of marks!

also at breakfast on the 2nd day we were their we were the only place set for breakfast and took 20 mins for breakfast to come but suppose you could say thats a positive as it was cooked fresh!

also when going to eat the fresh fruit that came with the continental breakfast when handling it it was extremely cold and hard as if it had been in the fridge and when handling it our hands stank of fish as if they had been put in the fridge along with the fresh fish as it does say on a board their fish is caught fresh everyday!

this is basic food hygine and think the chef or kitchen staff should be sent on a food hygine course as this is the basics of a kitchen and cross contamination of food!

but to summon up this place would be ok for an overnight stay but i personally wouldn't stay again as we had went for a romantic get away for the weekend! definately basic and average!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Stayed here for 1 night for our company Xmas party

Clean ,tidy and adequate for what we wanted
Previous reviewers comment on how good the breakfast was but it was nothing to write home about -most hotels serve a help yourself breakfast so if you want extra bacon you could have it ,this was plated and you did not have the chance to ask for something extra
Would i stay again - possible if the price was right

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hovis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
2.7 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
3.2 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
7.9 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,046 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 19 in Durham
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowburn Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowburn Hall

Property: Bowburn Hall
Address: Bowburn, Durham DH6 5NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bowburn Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bowburn Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowburn Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing