We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bowburn Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bowburn Hall
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“relaxing break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

booked this hotel last minute for a great price... our room was very comfortable , clean as was the bathroom.. the reception was very helpful as were all staff on duty during our stay... the gardens were beautiful , as was the retaurant.. We had the most beautiful meal... the menu was good as were the prices and portions..we didnt have breakfast, i thought it was a little pricey for a breakfast , but your only 10 mins if that from the gala in durham where you can eat in whetherspoons.. or even tesco is only 5 mins away.. we would definately stay here again.. xmas fayre looks good xx

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mscresswell2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    104
    69
    27
    22
See reviews for
125
107
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

Described as a country house hotel it is in fact envloped by a huge housing estate. However, the hotel was once in the country and has a tranquil unhurried atmosphere. Our arrival was not auspicious as it took 15 minutes to get someone to attend the reception desk, it turned out that they were short staffed and one person was have to look after the bar, reception and act as waiter! He, along with other staff who we eventually encountered, were friendly and helpful.
Our room was clean and tidy but the bed matress too soft for our taste.
We took our evening meal in the dining room, it was simple, honest and good value - the fish and chips recommended!
Breakfast was also excellent, the full English having everything a hungry lorry driver would want.
In summary, the hotel was pleasant, good value and very handy for visiting the city of Durham.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireTenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

The room was a bit on the small side but nicely furnished. It was good value (£40 per night) to have a free extra bed for our daughter, although it was a tight squeeze to fit in. The hotel is about a 5 minute drive from the center of Durham so it would only suit those with their own transport.
The main problem was the standard of cleaning. There was obvious signs that it hadn't been cleaned properly for a while. Also on one night there was a party downstairs that led to loud music until midnight (loud enough to hear the cheesy DJ's anouncements!). It's a shame because otherwise it's a nice building & furnishings.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alxndr1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BILSTHORPE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2010

After booking 5 nights we could only bear to stay one evening.This hotel was described as a hidden gem and a rear find.As far as we are concerned it can stay hidden .The reason being is because the room was small and poky,stained wallpaper,two lights not working,the TV didn't work,furniture was awful,paint on bedspread,threadbare carpet,sick in gents urinal .The evening meal was very poor and disappointing. The next morning we were woken at 7am by what sounded like beer barrels being delivered followed by the sound of hoovering. A letter of complaint was sent to the management but we have not had the courtesy of a reply.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLOYDBilsthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2010

We found the Bowburn Hall Hotel to be very convenient for the A1(M), and it was easy to get to Durham for their restaurants. The room was extremely warm and cosy, and the shower was hot and powerful. We thought that the breakfast offered, at £8.95, was expensive and instead chose to breakfast at the new Wetherspoons in Durham. The bar staff were friendly, real ale was available, there were lots of comfortable chairs in the bar-lounge area, and, although we didn't eat there, the menu prices seemed not overly expensive.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy_of_Leicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2009

glass see through door to bathroom really is a bad idea. otherwise the room was gorgeous however. standard of food at breakfast was shocking, waitress was very rude.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank idolaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2009

We stayed here for two nights between Christmas and New Year. The hotel looks very grand but the odd thing is that it is bang in the middle of a New Housing estate which is a bit strange. Out of every window you can see houses.

Inside it actually feels very cosy. We had a very nice room with all the period features and chandelier hanging from the ceiling. It was a bit on the small side but it was ok for us. It was clean, the bed was very comfortable and the shower was very good.

The food in the restaurant was excellent and we ate there both nights. Breakfast was also worth having.

The only downside is that the hotel has lots of party nights throughout the year (There is a big list of them on the wall in the bar). There was one on our first night which was not a problem until they cranked up the disco and our room throbbed until after midnight. So if you want a peaceful break, check there is not a party on the nights you stay. The second night was really quiet as we were the only guests!

  • Liked — cosy
  • Disliked — noisy disco
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCoulson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
2.7 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
3.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
3.1 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowburn Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowburn Hall

Property: Bowburn Hall
Address: Bowburn, Durham DH6 5NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bowburn Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Bowburn Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowburn Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing