We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just no” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loveshack Nightclub

Loveshack Nightclub
Ranked #12 of 14 Nightlife in Durham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Durham's Premier Nightclub, home to our legendary VW Camper Van, Party DJ and Regular Stage Shows. We are Inside the New, £50m Walkergate Complex.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just no”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Paid £4 to get in, was in there for about 2 minutes before security decided I was too drunk (I was sober) and got kicked out.Utterly mediocre - far better clubs with free entry within about 5 minutes or less of here. Don't bother with this expensive, boring dump.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    5
    1
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good if you're from a town that has nothing. Average after a while.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Being from a town that has next to nothing in it, me and my friends regularly go to Durham and Loveshack is always our last stop. Theres an entry fee of £4 after 22:30 (although this is earlier on nights such as bank holidays or occasions such as Halloween etc). £4 is quite steep but its really not worth going in before half 10 as the atmosphere is dead! I think drunks are reasonably priced in Loveshack compared to pubs/clubs nearby such as The Slug & Lettuce. Cocktails are priced well. I personally find Loveshack to be very hit and miss. Some nights its great, others its pretty boring. The DJ used to be good but lately, not that good. Some old music every week. Some order of music. Clear he's just playing same playlist over and over. The breakdancers are great however I'd lose the female dances behind the bar. Not tasteful. The campervan is always a plus with Loveshack. As with most night clubs, the toilets need a total revamp. Some of the worst in Durham. If you find one that locks, you're lucky. If you find one with a seat, you're lucky. Find one with loo roll, even luckier! Overall, I do like Loveshack. Bit pricy to get in, drinks are okay priced, atmosphere can be great, music is okay from time to time, the entertainment they put on is good (better than the other places in Durham though, minus the bar dancers), but the toilets are disgusting! Would recommend going though.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank beffsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good venue”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

Loveshack is a good venue, atmosphere and music but pricy entrance for Durham (£4/£5) on the door to get in, drinks aren't too bad if you get pitchers (about £7/8) good music , toilets are a bit grubby tho

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“good music”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

drinks are very expensive and do not taste like the real thing you are better sticking to bottles. all in all quite a good night

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dull”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

Typical nightclub, free entry before 22:30 but don't be tempted to go in before there's not a great deal to do. Advice is to purchase queue jumper tickets for entry later in the evening. There is a VIP area within for £100 hardly worth it all it really gets you is waitress service. Like most nightclubs getting served at the bar takes a long time and drinks are not cheap. The music is mixed, and there are sometimes entertainers on the stage. Toilets are disgusting so take some of your own toilet wipes with you.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kat2685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loveshack Nightclub also viewed

Durham, Durham
 

Been to Loveshack Nightclub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing