We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The lunch really is great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sambuca

Sambuca
Ranked #51 of 304 Restaurants in Durham
Price range: US$6 - US$26
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sambuca Durham is a vibrant and welcoming Italian Restaurant where friends and family can gathered together in a relax atmosphere. Unbeatable both value and food quality delivered by a very committed, competent and friendly staff.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The lunch really is great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

At £3.95 for a genuine three-course lunch (albeit with restricted menu choice) this is spectacularly good value. Bigger portions than we expected and genuine restaurant quality - this is not a fast-food joint masquerading as a series venue. The staff were excellent and very keen to please. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    234
    126
    75
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

We went on a Friday night, it was busy and there was a good atmosphere. The restaurant itself is impressive and spacious with a nice holiday feel to it. We were given a table close to the doorway where it was a little chilly and the table was broken and kept rocking which was a little annoying. Service was disorganised and slow, the food offered outstanding value for money, it was high quality with a decent sized portion for a good price.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aca43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great family Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

We have been a couple of times and had very good food at remarkably inexpensive prices. A comprehensive menu from basic pizza/pasta to fish and steaks with menu prices starting at £2.50 for a pizza, £1.50 for a pizza garlic bread, pastas from £3.95. House wine £8.50. Four adults can eat and drink for under £50 comfortably. It is very busy, but they have plenty of staff. The being informal and busy means they occasionally forget bits of the order but no problem.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul2378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Steven”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Very nice food, great value. However if you are disabled forget it. There is no access for disabled other than through the travel lodge next door, if the stair lift is working. The lift was not working on our visit. Best to phone ahead and ask, before you arrive.

Helpful?
5 Thank Asd1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just what Durham been waiting for !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Just arrived back In Kent after yet another visit to my daughter in Durham and can say at last that I didn't need to travel far for decent grub for a change !! Swordfish peach and mango salsa stater with garlic bread , slices pork belly that fell apart in my mouth - two tasty pastas, a t-bone - seabass roasted pepper and a shot of lemoncello to knock it on the head . The whole stay finished with smoked salmon and scrambled egg!!! Did not expect this at all after having to take taxi into centre for the branded stuff, def be back and you can be sure my daughter will be passing the word on to her student friends

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Pastamastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sambuca also viewed

 

Been to Sambuca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing