We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Appalling”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Sambuca

Sambuca
Ranked #52 of 304 Restaurants in Durham
Price range: US$6 - US$26
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sambuca Durham is a vibrant and welcoming Italian Restaurant where friends and family can gathered together in a relax atmosphere. Unbeatable both value and food quality delivered by a very committed, competent and friendly staff.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Appalling”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Me and two of my young friends went for a meal here just the other day and the waiting was appalling. I don't know if they were being discriminative as we were all teenagers and they must have just assumed we weren't as valuable as their other customers. We had to wait 45 minutes just for our starter to come. On arrival they were rude and 'jokey' towards us. When I asked for Parmesan cheese on my spaghetti the waiter accidentally tipped the bowl onto my lap and didn't apologies. When we asked where our food was another waiter just shrugged and said 'i dunno'. Although the price for the food is good and the food is average, me and all my friends are totally put off going back there again. And I'm encouraging you reading this not to go their either.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah_sturdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    234
    127
    75
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“family birthday celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Italian restaurant not 5 minutes from the heart of durham city, has to be the best I have visited, an excellent selection menu for Italian or English cuisine, the fresh ambience, the friendly waiter service and relaxing atmosphere all add to this experience not to be missed and what really sells it for my personal choice is the fact you can actually see the food being cooked and prepared so no worries that what you are eating is nothing but fresh, definitely, definitely will be returning on many occasions.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neil063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good service excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

lovely food excellent atmosphere and great customer service from the staff.... recommended... will visit again and again!!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurenben2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

the food at sambuca is excellent the service is spot on you do not have to wait long between courses but you are not rushed either normaly you do not need to book you can get a table anytime on most days sunday lunch time is very busy the food is good and value for money

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lyonsdebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

At Durham for weekend and had our 2 year old granddaughter with us! Have been several times - good value for money and tasty food. Good to see a busy place!

Helpful?
Thank Hazel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sambuca also viewed

 

Been to Sambuca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing