We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of luxury”

Ebony Champagne Bar
Ranked #20 of 309 Restaurants in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Contemporary, British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Durham
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A little bit of luxury”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I love that this place has made champagne accessible to normal people. The champagne list on offer is great, as are the cocktails.

The only downside is this place is too small to fit in everyone who wants to drink here so can often be traumatic to get to the bar or find a seat.

Theres also an element of favouritism when allocating reserved seating.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolleyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    87
    20
    11
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Girlie night out on Champagne”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Great atmosphere in this bar although cocktails are very expensive but I always go for one drink as I love drinking Kir Royal Champagne Cocktails on special occasions!! :-)

Helpful?
Thank Deb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Gorgeous Cocktails and Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We didn't eat here as we went on a Friday evening with a large group of friends and moved onto another bar. This place is lovely, cocktails were amazing and the atmosphere was relaxed and inviting. Would love to go back and try the food soon.
Try a Cham69 cocktail - delicious!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank clarahodg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fulham
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Always Visit!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Every time we visit Durham we always eat/drink at Ebony,
The price of the food and quality always impresses me.
Service and welcome is always very polite and not intrusive.
Highly recommend that you visit, can totally recommend the breakfast and lunch menu and not forgetting the good choice of champagne!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JackieFulham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Food, fresh and good value”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had the cod and pancetta fishcakes with salad - really tasty and freshly made, always a good meal when we eat here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank saraswales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ebony Champagne Bar also viewed

 

Been to Ebony Champagne Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing