We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beer and grub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of fighting cocks

fighting cocks
Ranked #104 of 304 Restaurants in Durham
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: this is also a pub
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good beer and grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

I Visit this pub every couple of weeks. The beer is well kept and the grub, cheap, tasty and plentiful. A good watering hole for all, however, if you want quiet, go early to avoid to crowds.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stanx S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    29
    14
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not sure........”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

It used to be the venue for the fighting lads of Durham 20 years ago and has worked hard to rebrand itself and now serves food but I'm not really sure.............

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BillMoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Repeat visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

I've been in the Fighting Cocks several times during various visits to Durham.
This is a pub which serves food, not really a restaurant.
However the menu is varied and they have some special combination offers at lunch time which seem very reasonably priced.
During my recent visit I ate lunch there a couple of times.
I found the bar staff to be very professional and non-intrusive.
The various seating areas being spread out and kind of in corners add a great deal to the "pub"
atmosphere, it does not feel like you are stuck in a cafeteria.
I'll go again on my next visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Biker-Norm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

I went into the fighting cocks with my friend, we were very happy to see that the staff are very polite and helped us out a lot. We ordered our food which did not take long and it was home cooked proper chips. When we left we were said goodbye to in a polite manor. I would definitely recommend this pub it is well worth a visit

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hartlepool
Level Contributor
179 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“always reliable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

you cannot keep the Fighting Cocks down, quite good pub food, not the greatest but good and substantial portions and with two for £6 what's there to argue about. drinks dearer tham Elm Tree though.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank pickybeggar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed fighting cocks also viewed

 

Been to fighting cocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing