We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much better than your average B&B, at the same sort of price!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sniperley Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sniperley Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Much better than your average B&B, at the same sort of price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

I happened on this gem when looking for a place to stay after the long trip dropping our daughter off at Durham Uni. It looked more characterful than the usual B&B or Hotel and indeed was when we stayed there. Lived up to all the expectations, proper food, locally sourced and cooked perfectly by the owner, rooms much larger than average and well furnished and appointed, especially the en suite bathroom.

We hope to try the latest addition when the owners have refurbished and relinquished their own even bigger bedroom...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    16
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
83
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We can high recommend this b&b. Room was very spacious and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was fab with fresh fruit and a lovely cooked breakfast. Will definitely stay again. Can also recommend Whisky River bar for cocktails and the Shakespeare for a step back in time.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JanB1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Lovely clean, well set out and spacious room - big enough for our 8 month old's cot and stuff! We stayed in the double room with the bathroom across the corridor. This was no problem, the bathroom was also a good size and very clean. Better to have a larger room and bathroom than to make it a smaller en-suite. The owners were very friendly and accommodating to our little boy. We could come and go as we please and there was a long window for breakfast - which was delicious! Would be handy to have had a small fridge in our room but that's being picky! We enjoyed our two nights there and this would be our first choice if back in Durham.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed in room 3 which had a large bed & lovely view. The bathroom was large & had a fantastic power shower. The breakfast was lovely & the selection was huge - you could easily spend an hour at the breakfast table! The owners were very helpful & friendly, there was no rigid routine which was nice! The driveway isn't lit so I wouldn't recommend walking into town at night but the park & ride is close by & taxis are cheap. I stayed here as a birthday treat & would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet, relaxed break.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayesha_Rowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

There was no contest when looking for a quiet break near Durham. TripAdvisor comes into its element here. Jim made us very welcome, showed us round his cosy home, and made us so comfortable. Our bedroom was spacious, well furnished and pristinely clean, with the added bonus of proper china cups and saucers and chocolate biscuits on the tea tray! Plenty of wardrobe space, huge double bed and a fantastic view from the window too. Then there was the breakfast! Flexibly timed between 7.30am and 10 am, Jim offered us every possible combination of the typical English breakfast, as well as fresh strawberries, blueberries and home made jam. We would have no hesitation in returning, and would probably go when the rhododendrons are out in the lovely garden. A winner!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

I am really not sure what I can say to add to the other reviews. This place is one where the welcome is outstanding, the rooms even better, the quality of sleep was excellent, - also, the showers, rooms etc were immaculate and the breakfast was good.

It was our daughter's graduation day. We were even offered a lift into town, with another couple, by the owner (no charge to be made) which would have meant we didn't have to battle the traffic. However, we did not take the offer up as we were not ready in time. But we didn't mind as this place is just around the corner from the Park and Ride - which is extremely efficient and well run, too!

The other thing which was lovely was they had an "honesty bar" ..... you could buy a bottle of wine and put the money in a jar. There was even cut glass to borrow to drink the wine from!

If this were a hotel I can guarantee the prices would be double, if not more!

All in all, a lovely, genteel and welcoming place. If that weren't enough it was comfy, immaculate and quiet.

An experience which was enjoyed and I would love to repeat!

Room Tip: I understand that all bar one of the rooms is ensuite. If you want an ensuite - give them a ring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Solbarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

You couldn't wish for a more genial welcome, more comfortable bed or more of a home made breakfast! Conveniently located near the A1 (be it on the other side of Durham), it's certainly worth revisiting.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank GastronomeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
7.5 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
6.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.2 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
6.5 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
7.6 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sniperley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sniperley Hall

Property: Sniperley Hall
Address: Sniperley Hall Lancaster Road, Durham DH1 5RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sniperley Hall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, HotelsClick, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Sniperley Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing