We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tealicious Tearoom, Durham” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tealicious Tearoom

Tealicious Tearoom
Ranked #1 of 7 Dessert in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$13
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Drinks, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Tealicious Tearoom offers a relaxing atmosphere in which to enjoy the 17 individual blends of loose leaf tea served in a collection of unique fine bone china tea cups. Fresh homemade cakes, scones and sandwiches made to order, makes a visit to Tealicious Tearoom a truly unforgettable experience. Opening times: Tue - Sat 10am til 4pm Sun - 12 noon til 4pm Mon - Closed
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tealicious Tearoom, Durham”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

A real gem. Alison, the owner's passion shines through. There is such attention to detail. A choice of seventeen uniquely blended teas served from a lovely teapot and in pretty china teacups was such a joy to find. As an avid tea drinker this delightful tea room was such a memorable experience. The homemade cakes all looked gorgeous and it was difficult to choose. On our second visit we tried the soup and sandwiches, equally mouth watering.The staff are very welcoming and make sure you really enjoy your visit. If you enjoy loose leaf tea, served in the traditional way with wholesome scrummy homemade cake, then Tealicious is a must!

Alison and Tony

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    42
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely little tea room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

A small traditional tea room serving some 17 tea varieties of tea and very good coffee. The tea room is quite new and the staff are very friendly. A very good selection of cakes and scones was available this made choosing difficult as they all looked great. As I am not a tea drinker I chose a lovely strong coffee and scone whilst my wife had Durham Miner's tea and a scone. All were delicious!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Norie003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
2 reviews
“Great little tea room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

Qintessentially English tea shop, small but perfectly formed with a lovely selection of home made cakes and scones and really good choice of teas with Taylor's coffee for the non tea drinker. Nice friendly helpful staff. We'll be back often I think.


Quarrington Hillbillies

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BowburnBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Nice Durham Miners Brew and tea cake :) somewhere nice to visit as the weather is bad - nice atmosphere !

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mkdonspaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New tearoom with friendly staff and a delicious menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

I was drawn to Tealicious, not just because everyone already in there looked so contented and well attended to, nor because the decor was wonderfully vintage, but because, as my mother and I peered in through the window, the first thing to catch our eye was a stack of delicious looking fruit scones. Our order, complete with jam and cream, was served on a china, tiered cake stand and our tea (we had a choice of 18 varieties) came with a tea strainer for each of us in the shape of a teapot! While eating, we perused the other choices of cake - all home baked, and the plates of those who had ordered tasty looking sandwiches or soup. Well before we had finished, we knew we would be back to sample something else from the menu; and we were - just two hours later. This time we gave the carrot and coriander soup a go and we weren't disappointed. I cannot recommend the food or the staff enough. The attention to detail is wonderfully pampering and the prices reasonable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tealicious Tearoom also viewed

 
Durham, Durham
 

Been to Tealicious Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing