We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab Farmhouse Breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lowfields Farm Shop and Tea Room

Lowfields Farm Shop and Tea Room
Ranked #7 of 12 Coffee & Tea in Durham
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fab Farmhouse Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Been here twice now for an all day breakfast, its a huge plate full!! Good value and lovely views too.
They also have a shop selling farm produce & a few crafts.
Definately worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vintage-pirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    15
    1
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The best place for pie and chips!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We've been here a few times now so it's time to write a brief review.

If you like really good homemade pie and chips then this is the place to go. It is fantastic value and the portions are generous (to say the least).

Nothing fancy just really good traditional food.

(I'm told the rest of the food is excellent too but I've only ever had pie and chips.)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Superb lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Hadn't heard of this place before but it was handy for us on this particular day so we gave it a try and are so pleased we did! We just had lunch of a BLT but have never had one like it! Lovely fresh seeded bread roll (large), delicious bacon with fresh tomatoes and lettuce plus a huge salad on the side complete with coleslaw. A bowl of chips between us and a pot of tea completed a real treat. The main meals we saw being served were beyond good, they were eye popping! A nice, well stocked, deli counter too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank janoliNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wow a hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Well what a nice surprise this was! Out for a day in the country with the other half and stumbled upon this place!

Food was gorgeous and portions were aplenty! Recommend the bacon cheese and chicken leek pie!

We will be returning!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank warwagon86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great place to eat and epic sized portions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Visited the tea room and farm shop on several occasions with my wife and later with the rest of the family. The menu is varied and they also have daily specials. They also have a deli / take away counter with an amazing choice of pies, quiches, cakes and other treats.

The food has always been of amazing quality and the portion sizes can only be described as epic. It's always s a lovely place to eat, the staff are usually welcoming (similar to what others have said) and I can easily recommend this place to go and eat or to buy yourself a treat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lowfields Farm Shop and Tea Room also viewed

 

Been to Lowfields Farm Shop and Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing