We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect picnic”
Review of Ciao Ciao

Ciao Ciao
Ranked #56 of 312 Restaurants in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
North East england
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect picnic”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Picked up some lovely pastries, cake and baklava for a picnic lunch at the Miners Gala. Cheese and spinach slice was enormous and very tasty, baklava sweet and sticky and very filling. The lemon cake was lovely

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Romola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    44
    12
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Darlington
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This is our favourite cafe in Durham. The pastries in particular are to die for, and so authentically Greek. The Spanokopita and Tyropita are the best I've had outside of Greece and the chocolate baklava makes an already naughty dessert simply wicked! The salads and sandwiches are really good too. If you can grab an outside table on a sunny day, you can imagine you're abroad.

Helpful?
1 Thank SymiSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful bread but expensive”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Having lived in Europe for 29 years, I was used to all the wonderful, fresh, flavoursome breads you can get there and over the moon when I discovered Ciao Ciao. The choice of breads isn't as wide or varied as you'd find in Europe but the quality is lovely. The prices are, however, quite high.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trimdon Village
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Bread of life”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Regular drop in for us -you cannot beat it for the rich selection of drinks, wonderful mederteranian foods and the most wonderful cakes and biscuits. If you are visiting call in you will not be disappointed! Try their different breads and take some home - wow.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely, friendly, great service”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Found this little place whilst looking for somewhere to eat breakfast on 10th May 14. Glad we discovered it!! looks lovely from the outside & in. Staff are very pleasant & helpful. Even better a bacon bun (with 4 choices of fresh bread) & a cuppa for £2.50! I don't drink tea or coffee so she made me up a hot chocolate. The home made cakes, pasties, pies etc. which were also available looked delicious. We will definitely be visiting again! :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha150189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ciao Ciao also viewed

 

Been to Ciao Ciao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing