We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh, friendly and authentic”
Review of Ciao Ciao

Ciao Ciao
Ranked #59 of 305 Restaurants in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fresh, friendly and authentic”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Ciao Ciao is reminiscent of real mediterranean cafes and restaurants. The food is fresh, tasty and home-made. Shelves of home-made bread are behind the counter, and used in the food served. The owner will talk you through your choices and describe the food to you. Quick, efficient service. There was a queue to the door and I'd queue again.

A filling Souvlaki and a fruit juice for lunch, with a coffee and Baklava to follow. All for a tenner. Will definitely be back.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank doctorludo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    44
    11
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“will go back”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

i went here with my gran for afternoon tea i ordered a ice tea and a pizza slice, both were very nice and filling.

But when they were warming my pizza up in the oven they forgot about it so we had to wait a little longer hence not giving them 5/5 despite this little hiccup i will be going back sometime.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oliver w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East england
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect picnic”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Picked up some lovely pastries, cake and baklava for a picnic lunch at the Miners Gala. Cheese and spinach slice was enormous and very tasty, baklava sweet and sticky and very filling. The lemon cake was lovely

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Romola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This is our favourite cafe in Durham. The pastries in particular are to die for, and so authentically Greek. The Spanokopita and Tyropita are the best I've had outside of Greece and the chocolate baklava makes an already naughty dessert simply wicked! The salads and sandwiches are really good too. If you can grab an outside table on a sunny day, you can imagine you're abroad.

Helpful?
1 Thank SymiSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful bread but expensive”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Having lived in Europe for 29 years, I was used to all the wonderful, fresh, flavoursome breads you can get there and over the moon when I discovered Ciao Ciao. The choice of breads isn't as wide or varied as you'd find in Europe but the quality is lovely. The prices are, however, quite high.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ciao Ciao also viewed

 
Durham, Durham
 
 

Been to Ciao Ciao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing