We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“like stepping back in time :)”
Review of Colpitts Hotel Pub

Colpitts Hotel Pub
Ranked #118 of 304 Restaurants in Durham
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, Serves Alcohol
Co Durham
Level Contributor
192 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“like stepping back in time :)”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Have spent some great times over the years in this super little pub. Have slowed down my nights out of late, however on my rare trips into town, will pop in to sample some of the great beers on offer.
This little gem really feels as if you are stepping back in time, and maybe its my age, but it is somehow comforting, and I get quite nostalgic when I return.
A good, honest pub, with none of the modern millarkey associated with the chain type hostelries. Happy memoreis of happy times :):):)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank stottyCoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Skien, Norway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A pub with an athmosphere”
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

A very nice and original English pub. This is the kind of pub I am looking for, but seldom find. Well kept beers.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pilotbrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrea Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
549 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Welcome back to an old friend”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I was brought up within 100 yards of Colpitts returning on family visits at Xmas etc . It had been some 10 years since my last visit and what a joy to revisit this weekend. It is still the back street local that would be recognised by those who watch Coronation street. Busy without being overcrowded as it not large but great beer, atmosphere and great prices for the beer. Would visit always for the beer - food seldom crosses the mind when you are there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co durham
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

This pub is a great place to chill,nice people strong and very cheap beer under £2 a pint,not a place to spend all evening but a couple of hours,i don't normally like Sam Smiths beers but at the Colpitts they keep a great beer.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 1crisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Colpitts Hotel Pub also viewed

 

Been to Colpitts Hotel Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing