We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The gold standard for pubs”
Review of Colpitts Hotel Pub

Colpitts Hotel Pub
Ranked #115 of 305 Restaurants in Durham
Restaurant details
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“The gold standard for pubs”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is how pubs used to be before food, piped music and ill-advised interior designs to make them look like libraries, sitting rooms etc. Lovely old Victorian interior, wooden floors and local memorabilia. Crackin' landlady, legendary enormous Taylor's pork pie on the bar Friday and Saturday (the only food available) and a wide mix of colourful local characters. Couple all this with really well kept and well pulled hand-pumped Sam Smiths Old Brewery bitter at eye wateringly cheap prices and you have all the hallmarks of a really good traditional Northern ale house. Well worth a visit for anyone who regrets the passing of the pub as a bastion of traditional British drinking values!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaj0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An old skool pub”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

I was stopping up the road in a b&b and saw this place on my way into town. It has an oldskool feel to it with lounge and snug entrances with off sales hatch. Cheap beer. The place needs a lick of paint but that kinda adds to the appeal. The chap behind the bar was friendly and welcoming. If I have to work in Durham again. I'll pop in again

Helpful?
1 Thank tvcrew80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Arsum little pub in Durham”
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

1 of the best pubs in Durham , and not a thing has changed , a tru jem to Durham , thanks for great nite can't wait to be back

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DurhamCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Durham
Level Contributor
193 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“like stepping back in time :)”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Have spent some great times over the years in this super little pub. Have slowed down my nights out of late, however on my rare trips into town, will pop in to sample some of the great beers on offer.
This little gem really feels as if you are stepping back in time, and maybe its my age, but it is somehow comforting, and I get quite nostalgic when I return.
A good, honest pub, with none of the modern millarkey associated with the chain type hostelries. Happy memoreis of happy times :):):)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank stottyCoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skien, Norway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A pub with an athmosphere”
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

A very nice and original English pub. This is the kind of pub I am looking for, but seldom find. Well kept beers.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pilotbrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Colpitts Hotel Pub also viewed

 

Been to Colpitts Hotel Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing