We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog Friendly”
Review of The Queens Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Queens Head
Ranked #31 of 40 Durham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We chose this pub because it was on our journey from Leeds to South Shields on Saturday 1st March and we wanted to break our journey for lunch somewhere not far off the A1, that accepted our Tastecard and also allowed dogs in the bar area. The welcome and the food and beer were great and although we don't visit the area very often, we will definitely drop in again with our border collie for some good pub grub when we are passing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

Lovely Sunday lunch been quite a few as my mum and dad live close by it's their local, really nice devour inside very comfy and the manager is always very pleasant. I recommend the beef roast very good get lots on your plate thumbs up

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Sky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Came here to take our malnourished student son out for lunch. Good menu including veggie options. Had hamburgers & cod. Enjoyed warm relaxed environment and helpful staff. Recommend booking because it was busy but they managed to fit us in.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank jdm230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

good choice of food freshly cooked well presented and reasonable prices ,staff very pleasant and helpful can highly recommend a visit.
This was a trip out for a family meal so havn't stayed in bed and breakfast but have heard good reports .

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ena h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Visit the Queens Head on a regular basis. The food is Great value, Excellent quality with generous portions. The service is always very speedy and the staff are wonderful, friendly and very welcoming with each visit. :D

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank RosieCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

its a shame the accommodation lets this pub down,duct tape holding rotten carpets together,creaking doors and floor boards,holes in walls,very dull interior room with stained carpets and curtains,a dull green basin,tv did not work,flat batteries in remote,no toilet roll in shared bathroom,i was up and out of this minging place after my 2 slices of toast and cuppa coffee by 7-30am,

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foreverpools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Had a meal at the Queen's Head on Friday night. We were four women (inc 3 over 60s) with a groupon voucher. £35 for a two course meal and a glass of wine for 4 people. We eat out regularly and we can be quite critical if we think the food or the service is not up to standard. Not a single complaint here. As soon as we walked in, the room was warm and the atmosphere was cosy and friendly. The young man who served us was friendly and polite even though we were asking for jugs of water, wanting to change drinks, etc (as older ladies are wont to do). I had fried mozzarella sticks, chutney and salad garnish for starters and duck breast with plum sauce and potatoes and vegetables for main. The others had different main courses and two of us had puddings instead of starters - the sticky toffee puddings with loads of pouring cream were gorgeous. The girl serving the drinks and helping serve the food was also very pleasant.
I have read the other reviews for the hotel and, while I am sure that every review is correct, they seem very far removed from our experience.
It's definitely a pub with no separate restaurant but, although the drinkers and eaters were all sat together, it all made for a very nice, comfortable atmosphere.
Would definitely go again, even without a voucher.
The photograph on the front of trip advisor page is years out-of-date. It doesn't look like this anymore.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank DurhamResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
552 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#18 of 40 in Durham
66 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Bay Horse Inn
The Bay Horse Inn
#2 of 2 in Brandon
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,177 reviews
2 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Head

Address: 2 Sherburn Road, Durham DH1 2JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management since 05/06/2017, a friendly community orientated pub with bar/ lounge, restaurant, conservatory, beer garden with 8 letting rooms. We offer cask ales and a variety of home cooked traditional food. We offer free wifi, colour tv, new orthopaedic mattressess in each room with tea and coffee making facilities. Currently upgrading rooms and adding a disabled ground floor room with wet room. Free parking with cctv coverage. 5 minutes from city centre of Durham walking or bus stop outside. Rooms from £45.00 To £60 per night. Families catered for in large rooms with cots and single beds at no extra cost, animal friendly too. a good budget b& b a full English breakfast for 7.95, friendly staff also. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing