We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, especially on a sunny day”
Review of Cafe on the Green

Cafe on the Green
Ranked #116 of 365 Restaurants in Durham
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Reviewed 8 January 2019

Decent cafe on Palace Green, but there are very few tables outside which tend to be never free. The coffee is good, so are their soups. Give it a try if you're in the area and in need for a break. It's rather loud, so perhaps not the ideal place for a business coffee place.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank travellergeorge80s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2018

We loved this cafe, which we visited on a cold afternoon. The staff were friendly and helpful and service was good. The soup was delicious and very reasonably priced.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 971janicea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

On first sight this place is unwelcoming. A rather sad looking selection of cakes was on show, and then you go into the café itself and the décor is uninspiring and rather depressing. Hardly service with a smile, and another table got our drinks, but luckily all parties realised the mix up. I had a scone - not bad, and a good hot chocolate. My mother had a toasted teacake, which she could not finish, so I had some of it and it was the worst toasted teacake I have ever tasted. They had toasted it as you would a toasted sandwich. It tasted burnt and bland. Very little care was taken over any presentation. I shall not be going back there.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank benben9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

Popped in here today after our castle tour for a bite to eat. Enjoyed my halloumi and chickpea salad with spicy pesto and OH had a huge bacon and cheese toastie. Crisps with that were stale but his salad was ok. We had cold drinks and ate inside. All came quickly as they were not too busy.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank christel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

If the weather is sunny, a great pace to sit outside and view the cathedral and castle. However with only 1 waitress serving and cleaning all the tables, this is going to struggle when it's even slightly busy. Would have been better with self-service. the inside certainly looks like a canteen.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank eh_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe on the Green also viewed

 

Been to Cafe on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing