We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Asian Tapas”
Review of Lotus Lounge Durham - CLOSED

Lotus Lounge Durham
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Durham
Level Contributor
366 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Asian Tapas”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We thought we'd give this restaurant a try, Asian tapas fitted the bill nicely as we were hungry but not starving. Basically 3 tapas for £10, so we ordered a plate of 6, preceded by a cocktail (pricey but nice as a treat) and a bottle of white to go with the meal. Finished off with some (non-asian!!) cheese and biscuits - the cheeses were fab.

A bit more "zing" in the tapas would have been nice, but all in all we thought tasty food and nice atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DevonHare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    36
    18
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Been with Friends in Durham for a night out with overnight stay. We didnt know where to go so we looked on trip advisor for excellent feedback. Lotus lounge cought our eye. We rang to book a table. Felt very lucky only 1 table was left at 7.45pm.
Getting ready for 7.45pm all looming forward for a nice meal. We wete wondering the amount of empty tables. Not thst busy than said by phone.
I had a green Thai Curry with Prawns. It was delicious. My ftiends loved and enjoyed their meals. Highly tecommend the food.
Booking system bit strange. Would of gone to diffetent time than giving

Helpful?
Thank Jenbri63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding second time round!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Couldn't fault it again. Food was exceptional. Starters of soup and beef skewers. Amazing. Mains of Thai green curry and pork belly. Again, amazing. Deserts cheese board and lemongrass and line creme brûlée. The latter the most original, creative and tasty fusion food going! We rave about this place because it is so much better than the well-known other Asian option in Durham. It is soooo much better, tastier, cheaper, and generally nicer atmosphere. The service was exceptional too. It was unobtrusive but we wanted to pay quickly after a leisurely meal to get somewhere and it was sorted in seconds. Will be back sooner than planned!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DAC87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food, lively atmosphere, loud for conversation”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My husband and I attended an evening business event at the Lotus Lounge in Durham. We enjoyed the food and the service was good. It is a busy city centre restaurant with a lively atmosphere. The only problem we found was that it was a bit noisy for conversation and this made networking difficult.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Durham_Folks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
986 reviews
384 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
“An OK place to eat”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

There's quite a few dishes to choose from. The duck in my noodles was a bit dry, and the steak that some of us orderes was cooked too much. The crispy duck however was good. There a large choice of cocktails. The desserts were very good. The staff was nice when they were available, but at times they completely dissappeared. It lookes new and is very nicely decorated.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank EllenChr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lotus Lounge Durham also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing