We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the lunch deal”
Review of Lotus Lounge Durham - CLOSED

Lotus Lounge Durham
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Avoid the lunch deal”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Had their lunch-time two-course offer and it was awful. Watery prawn soup contained no prawns - we queried this and were told the chef forgot to put them in - all two of them! Salads were likewise small and meanly made. Total rip-off. Go to Flat White.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Durham_Hunger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    36
    18
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Went into restaurant on a very busy Saturday night without a reservation. A very efficient and friendly lady sorted us out a table and made sure we were having a good time . Food was delicious and we had a good choice of wines and cocktails! A little on the pricey side but worth it .

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 66Anna_W_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.E. England
Level Contributor
104 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Very nice food”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My partner and I went to the Lotus Lounge on Friday afternoon (30th May) Weare not from Durham and had never seen or heard of this restaurant. We were seated by a very nice efficient lady who seemed to be in charge, She recomended the mixed Thia tapas with a side dish of wonderful tasty rice, it was the perfect light lunch. The food and atmosphere along with very efficient service means that we will certainly be back.
A slight critisism is that there was no menue at the entrance or in the window and it was only the name of the place that indicated the type of food available.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jazzfinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very bland”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

My friends and I went to this restaurant in April for my birthday as I had been in before for cocktails and the food looked good. Unfortunately it did not taste good. Bland bland bland. The Thai green curry tasted worse than a Sainsburys microwave meal.
I won't be rushing back, especially at the prices they charge for bland food!

Helpful?
2 Thank Dee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
366 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Asian Tapas”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We thought we'd give this restaurant a try, Asian tapas fitted the bill nicely as we were hungry but not starving. Basically 3 tapas for £10, so we ordered a plate of 6, preceded by a cocktail (pricey but nice as a treat) and a bottle of white to go with the meal. Finished off with some (non-asian!!) cheese and biscuits - the cheeses were fab.

A bit more "zing" in the tapas would have been nice, but all in all we thought tasty food and nice atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DevonHare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lotus Lounge Durham also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing