We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“peaceful haven in wonderful city-centre location”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
Serenity in the city centre
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Serenity in the city centre
Lounge area  WiFi in apartment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
37 reviews
Serenity in the city centre
Lounge area
WiFi in apartment
Main lounge with french doors leading to the decking area
Decking area above the river Wear
Balcony decking area
Kitchen area with dining table
Master bedroom with views over the river
Master bedroom
En-suite bathroom
En-suite with Molton Brown
Twin bedroom over looking the river
Family bathroom
Molton Brown products
Exterior decking area
Kingsgate Bridge
Lift from secure car park to ground floor apartment
External security intercom for seeing and talking to guest arrivals
Durham Cathedral
Old Elvet Bridge leads to city centre
Durham Cathedral
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Durham, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carole C
1 review
“peaceful haven in wonderful city-centre location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Just back from a short 3-night trip with my two teenagers. The apartment was well-equipped and in the perfect location, being walking distance from the city centre. It was a delight to watch the rowers from the balcony and of course, Durham itself was a brilliant place to explore. Despite it's central location, we found the apartment quiet and peaceful, a great place to return to in the evening.
The owners were extremely obliging, and when - on the morning of departure - my car had a flat battery, they were very helpful and put me at my ease as AA were called, phone calls made, coffee offered etc. This was very much appreciated.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2014
Hi
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your positive feedback about the apartment and its location. We aim to accommodate any unforeseen eventuality and hope you had a safe journey home.

Kind regards

Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdinbea...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment in perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We have just returned from a lovely short break with friends at this beautiful apartment. The apartment was very well equipped, lovely furnishings and the complimentary wine, nibbles and milk etc were much appreciated. We also appreciated the offer from Chris to collect and return us to the train station and the flexibility over the checkout time. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made very welcome. We enjoyed sitting on the deck watching the rowers and having a glass of wine, and it was an easy walk to nearby pubs and restaurants and local attractions when we wanted to go out.

The only slight niggles we had were that the second bedroom was a twin (not a double as in the description) and we couldn't get the coffee maker to work, but that was probably us! The lounge was also a little chilly at night but we managed to use the fan facility on the heater. However, we would definitely come back and would highly recommend this apartment to others.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2014
Thank you ever so much for your positive comments and the really encouraging feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us as we aim to please. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed the welcome goodies and the complimentary transport as we endeavour to provide excellent service above and beyond a self-catering accommodation.

We apologise for the failure of the heater which was isolated to the lounge and we are sorry for any inconvenience caused. We have been to visit the apartment today with an electrician and he has replaced the fuse, however we intend to replace the overnight storage heaters with slim line electric radiators throughout the apartment. We always invite our guests to contact us via our mobile numbers in the guest handbook should anyone find themselves with a problem, large or small. We reside 15 minutes from the apartment and we would have been happy to respond immediately to rectify the broken heater.

We were also concerned that you thought the apartment had two double rooms. Our ground floor “Riverside Apartment 2” has always been configured as a master bedroom with a King bed and a twin room. However, our duplex "Riverside Apartment" has a Master King bed and the second room has a double bed, this apartment was and is unavailable until June 2014 so would have shown “no availability” on the Holiday Lettings calendar for the time of your reservation. I hope we have been able to clarify the hiccups and we sincerely hope this didn’t upset your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again on your return visit to Durham City.

Kind Regards
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liz442
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location, beautifully furnished with attention to the little details”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We were very well looked after - with Molton Brown Shower and Bath items, a lovely welcome basket with wine and nibbles really added a touch of luxury and made us feel very welcome.

Its a great little set up watching the rowers from the balcony as well as the world go by.

The only small thing was I had to give the water tank boost to heat it up for a bath as the hot water ran out quite quickly in bath terms but had been shown where this was and it might be required so not a major thing at all and had no issues with hot water in the shower, so still 5 stars

We will definitely go back to this place.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: welcome pack and quality of decor
Liked least: forgetting to boost the hot water for a bath
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Dec 2013
Thank you ever so much for comments and the really encouraging feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us as we aim to please. We look forward to seeing you again on your return visit to Durham City.

Kind Regards
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraHay
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Delightful place to stay...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Absolutely lovely place...right on the river looking out towards the cathedral. You really are right in the midst of the city. Organisation & details were excellent, instructions easy to follow. Can't thank the owners enough. Would love to return again.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2013
Thank you ever so much for such fantastic feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilliamsH...
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, lovely accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We had a lovely stay, the location is very central so perfect for seeing Durham and waking up to a river view was lovely. Flat was very spacious and great for our one year old to run around in. Also decorated for Christmas which we thought was a lovely touch. Thankyou - we will definitely be back and recommending to our friends.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2013
Thank you ever so much for such fantastic feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, especially at this time of year when Durham is so beautiful. We look forward to seeing you again.

Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halls99
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent riverside apartment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We stayed in the apartment with our 10 week old newborn and it was a perfect setting for us. The owners were very nice and flexible which was great, the apartment was ideal and very modern, and the location was superb being just a short walk from all that Durham has to offer.
Some nice little added touches as well, would certainly recommend this to others wanting a comfortable central location in Durham.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2013
Thank you ever so much for such fantastic feedback. We were more than happy to accommodate your beautiful baby. It is so pleasing to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Many thanks
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zoej2000
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

stayed here for 3 days with my 16 month old daughter. the owners kindly provided extras for the baby on request. met ,me at the hotel nearby as i was unsure of loacationa. and nothing was too much trouble for the owners we were made to feel very welcome the apartment itself is lovely the bed was very comfy and everything you needed was there even a posh coffee machine. we met both the owners and they were very friendly and helpfull and even sent some one to show me how to work the coffee maker. the only problem i have is i wanted to book again and unsurprisingly it is fully booked. will definately be visiting again and will make sure i book well in advance. highly reccomend this apartment :)

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2013
Thank you ever so much for such fantastic feedback. We aim to please and aim to make every guest as comfortable as possible. We hope you choose to book with us again next year.

Many thanks
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$141
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing