We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic visit”

The Shadforth Plough
Ranked #61 of 310 Restaurants in Durham
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic visit”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

having moved near to the plough inn, myself and my partner decided to visit for a meal and a drink, upon arrival we found a gorgeous little pub for food and drink.
we ordered drinks and browsed the menu which had lots of appetising meals on it.
there was a plague on display letting people know that the chef john alyn bainbridge had been a finalist in the north east chef of the year competition, and his meals, my belly pork, my partners lasagne and our sons sausage and mash where fantastic. after the meal we spoke to the chef and heather, the barmaid on duty and they showed us a room with toys in to keep our son amused.
fantastic visit, and cracking value for money.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank monkey1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    43
    10
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for money!!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have been for the Sunday lunch today and it was lovely!!! We all had 3 courses and cannot fault the food!! The meat was lovely and tender and the vegetables were well cooked and hot!! Such a family atmosphere!!! We will be back in the future!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LouiseR80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, great beer!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Called in for a few pints yesterday, ended up having the Plough Burger... Superb! Nice pint, great food, great service. Will definitely be calling back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawthorn,Co.Durham
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Lovely Food”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had a late lunch here and were amazed by the menu options. Very good for a small village pub about 3miles outside of Durham City.

We chose Pork and Black Pudding Burger Battered Onion Rings with chips and salad. The food was excellent and I really couldn't eat all mine.. great as it was!

Will certainly go back again as they have a different option each night ie Curry night Steak night etc as well as the full menu

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“best steak i have had...”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

fantastic food........ excellent value will visit again !!! best steak i have tasted EVER and £11!!!! brilliant

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurenben2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shadforth Plough also viewed

 
High Shincliffe, Durham
 

Been to The Shadforth Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing