We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW!”

Lindisfarne Gospels
Ranked #19 of 58 things to do in Durham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

These were great, as the story and artifacts built up to the grand finale of the book itself. For adults only, I would suggest, but a really good hour or two spent finding out about local history and history-makers.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Compytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    33
    9
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
399 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A fantastic opportunity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We booked for a time on a Sunday afternoon and were not dissapointed. This was a rare event seeing the gospels back in the North East.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What hype.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Terrible dull lighting. Dredful people. Once I finally got to see the Gospel it was on the must boring page. Was so upset. However, on my way out a security guard suggested that I pop upstairs to the Wolfson Gallery where I spent a very happy hour looking at children's work that had been inspired by the gospels and used a huge ipad to look at the lovely pages. This part of the experience was AMAZING.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“cultural visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit it was great to see a part of local history my husband wasnt sure before we went but as I said if we were on holiday we would go and look so why not when at home well worth the bother

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosie2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Queue moves quickly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

On the day we went to see the gospels, we were met by a queue even though we had times tickets. However the queue moved very quickly and we were thrilled to see part of our history. Wonderful opportunity to see them.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sheila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lindisfarne Gospels also viewed

 

Been to Lindisfarne Gospels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing