We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful lodge with excellent facilities”
other travellers have booked this property
Little Owl Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Little Owl Lodge
LOL Living Room LOL Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Little Owl Lodge
LOL Living Room
LOL Kitchen
LOL Alpacas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Durham, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DJNye N
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful lodge with excellent facilities”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Owl lodge was truly beautiful, comfy and excellent facilities. the lodge makes a good base we visited Beamish but The local places were very nice too. you do need a car to get about but it is so nice to be away from everything and not on a big resort. the welcome we had from Yvonne was lovely and the little extras she included for our arrival was truly above and beyond the expected. we will definitely book again and hope to go back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the spa bath
Liked least: wish i had time to meet the alpacas a weekend wasnt long enough
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glynis M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly and Fun”
Reviewed 2 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The lodge is everything it says it is, well equipped, disability friendly and very comfortable. Set apart from the farmhouse with views of the horses and alpacas out in the fields, it was private with outside space and parking near to the property which was very welcome as one of our party uses a wheelchair. Our hosts were very welcoming and arranged for us to see the alpacas on the farm and to feed them. They were very knowledgeable about their animals and we all thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The lodge contained plenty of information both on the property (the sauna was fab!) and also on eating establishments round about and places to visit. Raby Castle is not far away and Staindrop has a couple of great coffee shops. Eggleston Hall gardens are worth a visit. A thoroughly enjoyable experience and one to recommend to friends

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Layout and privacy of the property and the alpacas
Liked least: Have to ask owners for DVDs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sielad
Leeds, Uk
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic setting, gorgeous lodge, perfect hosts”
Reviewed 29 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here for four nights. Had a brilliant time. The lodge is superb. Lovely welcome. Yvonne and Pat are so helpful. The Alpacas are "awesome"! Loads of places to visit near by. Sauna and jacuzzi bath added luxuries. Most nights we played board games in the sun room, watching the alpacas. The lodge is secluded, so you do feel as though you have got away from it all. Phone signal not great, but that added to the chill out feeling. The Lodge is really well stocked, with a welcome pack. Would recommend to everyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Really friendly hosts. Lodge was spotless.
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMSpaldin...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Stunningly beautiful cottage in gorgeous Durham Dales”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We have just had the most fantastic week in Little Owl Lodge. It is the most beautiful holiday cottage I think we have ever stayed in; spacious, light, immaculately clean and modern with very tasteful decor, high quality furnishings and equipment and unexpected luxuries like a sauna and jacuzzi-style bathtub. The Lodge had everything you would need; a fantastic selection of books, games and DVDs, the most extensive walking guides to the Teeside and Weardale area and all the information available about visitor attractions in the local Durham Dales, Upper Pennines, Durham City and Newcastle. Little Owl Lodge is situated in the most beautiful countryside on an Alpaca farm and yet is just a few minutes' drive away from fabulous visitor attractions such as Raby Castle, Bowes Museum at Barnard Castle, the Locomotion National Railway Museum at Shildon, the ancient Escomb Saxon Church and is a short and stunning drive up to to Hamsterley Forest and the magnificent High Force waterfall. We were given a very warm welcome by the lovely owners Yvonne and Pat (and our welcome pack included not just their own hens' eggs but geese eggs!) and Pat gave us a very interesting tour around the farm to meet all the animals which we greatly enjoyed and which our son talked about all the way home. We cannot recommend Little Owl Lodge highly enough and certainly hope to be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very beautiful accommodation in stunning surroundings.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing